Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
12,377 ratings
1,937 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

Jun 17, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,867 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Alie E A A O

Mar 22, 2019

i don't enjoy with this course at all. this course is not good . i don't like copying code and paste it into other place. also to explain code was written before is not good for beginner the code must be written live to understand whole code . Also the assignment wasn't clear at all. you had to search to know what they want exactly. I hope to improve it for next people who will take it

By Connor H

Jun 11, 2019

It's a great toy introduction to database technologies - I wish the assignments involved more than just running starter code and making a few lines of modifications.

By 齐振

Feb 11, 2019

sql语言的内容偏多

By Peter B

Sep 06, 2018

Instructor is engaging, conceptual overviews were excellent.

Here's what I would do to improve:

(1) I don't think it would cost you much or take you much time to add honors content. That would be helpful for anyone just brushing up on the material that wants to go a little further.

(2) The last assignment is absurdly easy. I've never had a programming assignment where the criteria is simply to run code someone else has already written. That's just lazy and it hurts the brand name of Coursera and the University of Michigan.

I'm sure some of your students ('ahem) would be happy to produce some honors concept and rework the final assignment.

By Kevin K

Jul 15, 2019

Great course if your just getting started using python to edit and create data bases.

By Yutong Y

Jul 15, 2019

Nice course. Would be better if also includes sample code/tutorial/video for connection to other databases. Thanks Dr. Chunk.

By Yoselin A

Jul 12, 2019

Great course!

By José C

Jul 12, 2019

Excellent course!

By 赵泽民

Jul 11, 2019

The materials provided are very helpful and clear.

By Ayush C

Jul 09, 2019

thats exacty what I want....!!

By CHEN K

Jul 09, 2019

nice teacher!

By Karishma S

Jul 08, 2019

Nice course

By Lubomir D

Jul 08, 2019

Wonderful course with Dr. Chuck

By okiria e

Jul 08, 2019

A firm foundation for understanding databases with Python and Structured Query Language. Thank-you Dr. Chuck for making what seems at first impression hard easier

By Winnie C

Jul 08, 2019

I think the exercises are a bit too easy. But I've gained a really good understanding of how things goes together now.

By Eugene W

Jul 05, 2019

Good

By Jahanzaib M

Jul 03, 2019

Very good and easy explanation of Database concepts

By Dipti P

Jul 02, 2019

G

By João G S

Jul 02, 2019

Teaches in a very clear way some fundamental concepts about databases and its integration with Python, although its relevante goes way beyond Python, as the concepts presented are fundamental to understand databases in any context. Very good job in introducing databases to those that have no previous knowledge about this topic!

By Fernando C A

Jul 02, 2019

I would've liked to have to write more code, as most of the exercises were just modifying the written code a bit, but not actual writing! Aside from that, great course!

By Frank B D R

Jun 30, 2019

Id suggest for week 4 and 5 to have more difficult exams. I loved the course nevertheless. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

By Hoàng T N

Jun 30, 2019

Easy to follow

By Gaurav S

Jun 29, 2019

Great class. Very useful and well taught.

By Ashwani M

Jun 29, 2019

Thank you for teaching so important topics without loosing student interest

By Karan B

Jun 29, 2019

I found this course informative and quite understandable.