Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science

Python for Data Science, IBM

4.5
1,221 ratings
189 reviews

About this Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

By SS

Dec 07, 2018

With MATLAB being my programming fluency, Python was very confusing at times.\n\nThis was the course I needed to explain the most common data types in python in a clear and very concise manner.

By TJ

Sep 19, 2018

Great introduction to Python. Obviously this course couldn't teach you everything about Python, but had just enough information to get you started and peek your interest to learn more.

Filter by:

183 Reviews

By Kashyap Maheshwari

Dec 16, 2018

It was a good course, but the last week's peer graded assignment wasn't much helpful and it didn't make much of a sense to me

By Vipul Vaibhav

Dec 14, 2018

Clears funndamentals. But skips out many subtleties of NumPy etc. But great for fundamentals!

By Brunno

Dec 14, 2018

The course is good, but slightly to basic.

By Chris Odekirk

Dec 14, 2018

Take this review with a grain of salt. Let me start by saying I do not have experience programming and the course does recommend Python experience before enrolling.

I found the videos hard to follow, as there was no clear outline or natural flow to how the information was presented. The presenter spoke too fast and there was no time to digest the information before moving on to the next subject. I found myself pausing the video constantly and referring to the transcribed text below the video. That being said, the workbooks were terrific and seemed to cover almost everything in presented in the videos. For the final project, I found myself googling how to perform certain functions in Python, because I couldn't find examples to a lot of the code in the very detailed notes that I took.

By Ivo Marcelino

Dec 13, 2018

The final assignment was not really great quality and not much to do with Pandas, numpy etc.!

By AYUSH SHARMA

Dec 13, 2018

overall the course was great

but the number of questions in quiz is quite less.

By Dola Folowosele

Dec 12, 2018

Homework was poorly explained which made the task difficult to complete.

By LIU LU

Dec 12, 2018

Different concepts have been explained very clear in this course, like list, set, dictionary, object and class. Last time I was quite confused about all these, now I am quite clear.

By Roger Smith

Dec 11, 2018

Good basic introduction to the syntax of Python and its core capabilities. The online coding modules contain a number of errors in syntax. These are small enough that even a student can catch them and make the corrections to make the code run properly.

By Benjamin Wehner

Dec 11, 2018

Great course. I especially liked the final assignment!