Chevron Left
Back to Applied Social Network Analysis in Python

Applied Social Network Analysis in Python, University of Michigan

4.6
953 ratings
165 reviews

About this Course

This course will introduce the learner to network analysis through tutorials using the NetworkX library. The course begins with an understanding of what network analysis is and motivations for why we might model phenomena as networks. The second week introduces the concept of connectivity and network robustness. The third week will explore ways of measuring the importance or centrality of a node in a network. The final week will explore the evolution of networks over time and cover models of network generation and the link prediction problem. This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

By JL

Sep 24, 2018

It was an easy introductory course that is well structured and well explained. Took me roughly a weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Hope the professor follows up with more advanced material.

By CG

Sep 18, 2017

Excellent tour through the basic terminology and key metrics of Graphs, with a lot of help from the networkX library that simplifies many, otherwise tough, tasks, calculations and processes.

Filter by:

161 Reviews

By Kristin Abkemeier

Feb 15, 2019

A nice intro to networks in Python

By CMC

Feb 14, 2019

This is a great course for 2 reasons. The earlier assignments were just difficulty enough to reinforce the lectures. The last assignment was challenging enough to bring the entire specialization to to satisfying close. After finishing assignment 4, I really feel that I can apply the learning from this specialization to real work.

By Martin Huang

Feb 06, 2019

Great course!

By Alexander Genest

Feb 05, 2019

I got a bit the wrong impression from the title, but it was throughout the course very interesting to learn about Graphs. A welcome addition to the course would be a cheat sheet with the most important quantities.

By charles lenfest

Feb 04, 2019

A completely new area for me, and a really fascinating course.

By Martin Uribe

Jan 28, 2019

This was a great course, lots of great insights to gain. Only thing that was frustrating was the multiple choice quiz questions. I hated those.

By Sonia Dutta

Jan 27, 2019

Very useful

By Cyrus Nikko Pante

Jan 24, 2019

Well the subject was really hard.

By Nikolay Stoychev

Jan 02, 2019

The course and the tutor are great.

I learned how to create and manage network graphs using python with networkx. I was really satisfied from the last week assignment when I had to work with real-life example plus machine learning classifier.

By Sagar

Dec 29, 2018

Grate for solving network analytics issues