Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
1,925 ratings
372 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 365 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Sanjay K

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent material

By Lucas G

Aug 16, 2017

Good Course! The expected format for the assignment answers is often a little bit too finicky, but with careful reading of the prompts, they are all doable, and the tasks themselves are fun and useful.

By Eunjae J

Aug 26, 2017

This was hard but worth it. However, it didn't have extensive coding examples, which made it pretty hard to apply techniques on assignment. It might be a good way to induce creative thinking but very painstaking for students. Be aware!

By Víctor L

Feb 14, 2018

An excellent course, it gives a full introduction to text mining, what it is useful for, covers different techniques, provides challenging activities. Maybe it lacks of a practical activity in Week 4 before the assessment, but overall the course has very good content and an excellent instructor

By Aneek A

Nov 06, 2017

Covers a lot of things in breath, but it could have been a bit longer!!

By Binil K

Aug 15, 2017

This is a fantastic course though you might find some trouble with the grading part (Auto grading). This course will give you a good understanding about the various most useful techniques in text mining. Course is well structured and really helpful

By Carl B

Sep 20, 2017

Excellent course! Video lectures are high quality, with realistic problems and applications. Exercises are reasonably challenging, and all quite fun to do! Strongly recommend this course

By Vladimir

Dec 06, 2017

Highly recommended course about text mining and modelling for Computer Scientists! Great and challenging assignments to grasp the skills!

By bilalmazhar

Mar 27, 2018

Easy to understand and instructor clearing the concepts

By David L

Dec 13, 2017

Fantastic

By Davide T

Aug 18, 2017

Great teacher, great course. Topics are very interesting and well explained, assignments' difficult is just right. I'm sure they will put this review in some kind of sparse matrix in order to train a classifier and make previsions for future students...so it is a must-join course!

By Li T

Feb 08, 2018

Well designed course. Learned a lot from it

By Yi-Yang L

Sep 04, 2017

Good!!

By Maruf H

Oct 18, 2017

Short and concise introduction to text mining and natural language processing. The presentation of the instructor is very good. The course could be organized in a better way, more course material should be added. I like the assignments so much, they taught me a lot although I think there have some problem with the Grader. Overall it's a recommended course for a CS student.

By Ben K

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

By Sonu C

Jul 05, 2018

Great course, very well balanced pace of learning. Adds good amount of working knowledge with NLP tools; definitely not covers everything but more than what I expected.

By Julio V E

Mar 23, 2018

Excellent course

By Dewan M R

Apr 16, 2018

Its awesome as a fresh learner data science era.

By Jun W

Aug 12, 2018

V. G. is a good instructor. His course is very interesting.

By Jingting L

Sep 05, 2018

This is a solid intro course to NLP that covers the basics. For what it is I do think it deserves a higher rating than the 4.0 it currently has. I was worried about the amount of complaints regarding the grading machine when I started, but I was fortunate to have only experienced a very minor, inconsequential problem. Maybe I was just too traumatized by grading problems with other courses (*cough yandex big data engineering cough*) that the grading machine in this course in comparison is pretty reasonable.

For further learning, I discovered the NLP course in the Advanced Machine Learning specialization. I must say that is much more in depth and cutting-edge. Would totally recommend it as a sequel to this course.

By Manuel A

Sep 08, 2018

Just enough theory and an comprehensive guide through regex, nltk and some features from gensim (LDA). Assignmets are very challenging and some nice utilities are developed.

By Mohit K

Sep 07, 2018

Amazing Course.

By Jan Z

Sep 07, 2018

Great course overall. I have learned a lot, but last week had no tutorial example covering the topic and w4 assignment was not literally described resulting in spending a huge amount of time on trying which possible solutions will be accepted by autograder. Discussion forum helped a lot though.

By Maryam K A

Aug 27, 2018

Perfect course!

By Hamreet s

Oct 20, 2018

nice course