Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
1,932 ratings
373 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

CC

Aug 27, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 366 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Li T

Feb 08, 2018

Well designed course. Learned a lot from it

By Yi-Yang L

Sep 04, 2017

Good!!

By Luiz H Q L

Aug 19, 2017

Great course!

By 成一铭

Oct 25, 2017

so great!!!

By Prasenjit P

Mar 05, 2018

Well taught the text mining classes. Hope to use them in real time problems. Thanx professor !!!

By Víctor L

Feb 14, 2018

An excellent course, it gives a full introduction to text mining, what it is useful for, covers different techniques, provides challenging activities. Maybe it lacks of a practical activity in Week 4 before the assessment, but overall the course has very good content and an excellent instructor

By SagarSrinivas

Oct 01, 2018

Awesome. Worth it!.

By Noureddine B

Sep 18, 2018

Excellent course

By Mohit K

Sep 07, 2018

Amazing Course.

By Tam

Aug 08, 2018

Noteworthy!

By NGUYỄN Đ T

Jul 24, 2018

So useful, the course provided enough fundamental knowledge with practice code in pandas and nltk.

By Jan P

Jul 24, 2018

Nice course - but I found the assignment of week 1 a little to hard

By Bhima R

May 03, 2019

Nice content and good explanation with examples

By G B K

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

By Parul S

Apr 20, 2019

ggod

By Aashima B

May 07, 2019

Got to learn a lot. Would recommend it to others for text mining.

By Shadi A

May 24, 2019

Best instructor and teaching method

By Wixee Z

Apr 28, 2019

It's good.

By Magdiel B d N A

May 12, 2019

ok

By LENDRICK R

May 12, 2019

Well-taught course, I'd been struggling with regular expressions, thank you for simplifying the concept; additionally, you've opened my eyes to an entirely new world of data science for which I can think of an immediate productive application. :-)

By kaushal

May 25, 2019

it's great course to learn text mining in python , you will find many good examples which are related to real worlds problems

By Anurag B

Jun 12, 2019

Great Content!! Productive Session!!

By DEBAYAN M

Jun 12, 2019

Excellent! Too Good!

By John H E O

May 28, 2019

This course for me was demanding! I truly enjoyed all the concepts I learned.

By Ron B

May 28, 2019

I am a Data Engineer with a degree in Computer Science who wanted to learn more about Natural Language Processing for a small project I wanted to build. I had no prior knowledge of NLP other than some regular expression work from college and a basic knowledge of what tokenizing, tagging and classification were at a high level. This course was a great introduction into the field and has given me a solid applicable foundation to continue my education. I wanted something that was light in theory and heavier in application and this course hit a great balance. Contrary to many of the other reviews, I didn't have a problem with the autograder, most of the time I got an answer incorrect was due to not reading the question carefully enough. The assignments were great in my opinion and actually helped drive home the points made in the lectures. I recommend this class to anyone who wants to get their feet wet in the subject.