Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
1,916 ratings
371 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

CC

Aug 27, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 364 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Sarah H H

May 21, 2019

Loved this course. the pacing, the instruction. it flowed and I felt i could execute what I learned without too much head scratching due 'missing leaps of info'.

By Sean D

Jun 20, 2019

This was a good course. Far superior to their machine learning course.

By Hai Q P

Jun 22, 2019

Good for real researchers. I highly recommend.

By shantanu k

Jun 24, 2019

nice

By Fadhel A

Jul 04, 2019

This course give the basic idea in each module existed in text and natural language processing kits. A lot more for self-explore, but this will intrigue to begin sooner and learn wider.

By Yuhung C J

Jul 15, 2019

The last assignment is really challenging!!! Good course for text mining introduciton!

By Zefang L

Jul 18, 2019

Great introductory course for text mining. Very help to learn nltk, gensim, etc. packages.

By JATIN G

Jul 24, 2019

Nice Course, good learning

By Adrian L

Jul 24, 2019

Very nicely done!

By Dirisala S

Jul 24, 2019

The course is fantastic and it helps in enhancing your skills if you are a beginner.

By Shwetank A

Jul 26, 2019

nice experience and learning

By Ankush R

Jul 27, 2019

One of the best courses in NLP that I've come across thanks Coursera and University of Michigan

By Igor K

Jul 30, 2019

Nice course for beginners

By Yufan L

Aug 01, 2019

A lot of self-learning. The assignment is challenging, but well designed! The forum is the key to understand the Computer science writing style in the assignment :)

By sandeep d

Aug 03, 2019

Amazing

By Vijay G V

Aug 05, 2019

Good course with notebooks to try out

By Tianyang N

Aug 18, 2019

Good

By Utkarsh T

Dec 18, 2018

NA

By Alexander G

Jan 13, 2019

It would help to connect the teaching better to the assignments. Especially in Week 4 there is to little connection. There is not even a course notebook to practice some of the material.

By CaitlinYao

Feb 17, 2019

The assignments are much harder than the slides, which means much more self-learning is required.

By Michael M

Mar 22, 2019

Great course. Auto graders have some issues.

By Roberto L L

Mar 01, 2019

This an excellent course to open a door for NLP, an exciting topic.

By Christian E

Mar 27, 2019

Very good content

By Kristin A

Jan 30, 2019

A good intro to NLTK and text mining in Python, though sometimes the effort put in to render an assignment acceptable to the autograder was a headache.

By Lalit S

Jan 29, 2019

Awesome