Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python), University of Michigan

4.8
51,158 ratings
13,418 reviews

About this Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

By TM

Jun 21, 2017

first time i had done any course online and this was a wonderful experience\n\nI learned all the stuff and the explanation provided was good.\n\ni would like to do more courses from here\n\nthank you!

By EK

May 13, 2017

Excellent, although, even without having any programming experience except some Visual Basic at school about ten years ago, in my opinion the course could have bee more difficult and the pace quicker.

Filter by:

12,930 Reviews

By John Ahearn

Feb 15, 2019

Chuck was outstanding. Thank you.

By George Spak

Feb 15, 2019

ok

By Tarcisio de Paula Fernandes

Feb 15, 2019

Very good for beginners in programming.

By Bryan Goski

Feb 15, 2019

I started Coursera with a course in AI and Machine learning only to find out that I was in way over my head. realizing I needed some basic programming skills, I headed over to this course knowing that Python is one of the most use languages right now in programming. As a non-programmer/software engineer-type, this has been an amazing course. Dr. Chuck breaks things down for the average person so you can start understanding how things are done but also WHY they are done (which is more important in the beginning IMO). I'm now walking through the entire section (6 courses) with the end goal to make it back to that AI and Machine learning course and understand it far better. Thanks, Coursera! (and Dr Chuck!)

By Yaoyuan Fan

Feb 15, 2019

It's really good!

By Nihal Nalla

Feb 15, 2019

need more assignments as i feel "hands on" is the best way to learn

By Luís Manuel Lourenço Grossinho Dias da Silva

Feb 15, 2019

Great for beginners. Could be faster and more focused on the coding. I would remove the starbucks videos and mark the interviews as optional.

By Phua Zhi Wei

Feb 15, 2019

Excellent introduction course to basic programming and python

By Rasyid Fajar Nugraha

Feb 15, 2019

Thankyou

By Jorge Quintero

Feb 15, 2019

Excelente curso, muy práctico y muy bien explicado