Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
58,451 ratings
14,743 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)

Top reviews

TM

Jun 21, 2017

first time i had done any course online and this was a wonderful experience\n\nI learned all the stuff and the explanation provided was good.\n\ni would like to do more courses from here\n\nthank you!

SM

Mar 25, 2016

excellent for beginners, very well described, great understanding grasped and its simple, very simple, but thats what makes it 5 star, is that its for anyone or as the title says pythong for Everybody

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 14,412 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Eduards K

May 13, 2017

Excellent, although, even without having any programming experience except some Visual Basic at school about ten years ago, in my opinion the course could have bee more difficult and the pace quicker.

By Yuxin N

May 25, 2019

this course is extremely suitable for an individual who does not know anything about python. but after i learned the course . it seems like a litter bit of easy. i commend that at the final of the course. the text should tend to more difficult so that people who learn this course can actually improve programming skill

By Mayar S F

May 17, 2019

It's perfect

By Siddharth

May 17, 2019

Great way to start. It is excellent for persons with no programming background

By Bryan T H A

Jan 28, 2019

Lecture videos were broken into small parts whereby it's easy to understand and digest. Assessment given were relevant to what was taught for each segment. Navigating around course contents were easy.

By sanketi g

Dec 25, 2018

Best Course I have done on Coursera

By Mohak G

Jun 17, 2019

Great course to start programming in Python.

By MRITUNJAY K S

Jun 07, 2019

i know about a bit of programming language skills by using c or c++. But i also wanted to learn about the python programming language, so i decided to go with coursera & i want to say....waao...Dr. Chuck is awesome, the way he taught is pretty great... i mean to say that... this course is pretty awesome for everyone who want to go with python programming language So, i'm highly recommending to go with this course.

By PRADEEP K T

May 20, 2019

If you want to know the working of python as a programming language then you should join this course

By Kshitij S

May 17, 2019

This course is very suitable for beginners and the lectures are short and very precise and the instructor is a fun teacher

By Songjie G

May 17, 2019

great!

By Zou A

May 17, 2019

I love the professor! He is so funny!

By Atul B

May 17, 2019

I am very happy as I started my career with programming after couple of years experience in different stream. Python course prepared in an efficient manner, which can understand by any

By Mauricio A

May 16, 2019

I think this is a great course, the professor, videos and all course content is very good!

By Zayd A

May 16, 2019

Excellent teaching starting from basics and going gradually at a very reasonable pace with quizzes and assignments along the way to track your progress.

By Artem T

May 15, 2019

Great teaching: easy language, some extra work and thinking.

Thank you!

By Keith B

Apr 27, 2019

This is most definitely NOT for "Everybody." The lectures by Severance are great; but, if you get stuck on an assignment, don't expect straightforward, polite direction from the forum and it's TAs. I was shocked by how negative some of the responses were that I received from the TA. I got stuck on a problem. When I ran the program on my Mac, I got the desired result. When I ran the same program on the automatic grader, the program failed. The TA said that I must have run the wrong program on my Mac. No, I did not. I ran the program so many times, I know that I wasn't running the wrong program. I needed help "getting over a hump" and there was no help. As a busy professional, I don't have the life of a full-time student filled with numerous hours to try to figure out where I'm making a mistake. I need direct communication telling me where why my program is failing and why, so I can learn and move on. That was NOT provided in this class. "Clues" were given in the forum, but I don't have time to play games with snarky TAs. I'll find a course that IS for everyone, but this one is NOT it.

By Pratap C

Apr 22, 2019

Great starting course in Python for anyone interested in programming. Very engaging and informative.

By Tony F

Mar 22, 2019

This class served as not only my introduction to Python, but to programming in general. For whatever reason, programming can seem like a daunting task to people, including me. However, Professor Severance had a casual, yet confident attitude that made each week feel like an approachable game that happens to be very useful. I didn't expect to have a great time watching the lectures, but I did. Obviously, I'm not very advanced yet with programming, but it seemed to me Professor Severance was great at anticipating faulty habits or inclinations and nipping those in the bud for us beginners. He has well-constructed examples to explain his points without making them overly complex. In short, I think the title of the course is apt; it does a good job at making Python understood by everybody who is interested to learn. Thanks for the solid foundation!

By Lorilyn M

Mar 09, 2019

I love the teaching style of Dr. Severance!! I've tried so many other tutorials online but his class is by far my favorite. He helps cement connections by use of metaphors and visual aids and as a student who has traditionally favored subjects such as language arts, it has been invaluable to my learning experience!!

By Miranda E

Mar 08, 2019

I really liked Dr Severance. He kept my interest and didn't drone on about things....had a great personality and didn't assume you knew everything he has learned throughout his entire career. He has made me want to take the entire specialization. Great Job!

By Demetrius l

Mar 07, 2019

Course explains everything in a well defined manner and it's so easy to understand but challenging enough to have you think on your own. Very impressive. Hope there are more courses like this for more advanced subjects.

By Samantha R

Mar 07, 2019

Excellent course! The videos are great and the exercises push you. Very good course to get into the basics. The material is made available which is great to use as a reference for afterward. By far the best online course for beginners.

By Yvonne V

Mar 06, 2019

I am an absolute beginner to programming. I find this course a clearly instructed one for beginners. The course design is pragmatically useful because you need to practice by yourself, going through videos and books, in order to pass all the assignments. It is worth it in the end!

By Patrick M

Mar 06, 2019

Excellent course. The pace was perfect, it was not so long that it was daunting to finish and it did not take too much weekly free time either. Despite this, I was still able to learn a great deal and am still motivated to continue with the rest of the specialization.