Chevron Left
Back to Qualitative Research Methods

Qualitative Research Methods, University of Amsterdam

4.5
507 ratings
165 reviews

About this Course

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

Top reviews

By KO

May 29, 2017

Great course with a solid introduction to qualitative research methods. Loved the enthusiasm in the videos and the assignments were practical and great practice to use the methods taught.

By MH

Aug 14, 2018

It was awesome experience indeed. I have learned lot of things about Qualitative Research Methods. These lessons will help me a lot to do my personal research. Enjoyed that course much.

Filter by:

161 Reviews

By Jose David Niño Muriel

Dec 10, 2018

A really well prepared course! It could be good that some things of the course were updated

By Yasar Mehmood

Dec 03, 2018

It was very difficult for me to grasp the concepts explained in the course. One of the main reasons is that Professor explained the concepts in an abstract way without giving concrete examples. I have also taken the previous course Quantitative Methods. I would rate quantitative methods 5 out of 5 because the Professor used very simple examples (cat examples) and it helped to grasp the concept a lot. Unfortunately this was not the case in this course. I hope the Professor will do the needful to improve the course.

By Rebecca Taylor

Nov 19, 2018

There was some very useful information and explanations in the course, such as the appropriate way to interpret and generalize qualitative data (something a lot of people often get wrong) and how to mindfully structure qualitative interviews. The lectures themselves were a bit fast and disorganized, and I often had difficulty knowing which information to pay close attention to and take notes on. The exams took me several attempts each because some of the material tested on was glossed over in the lectures, and I was unsure of the correct answer. The course is worth taking overall, there's some good stuff in here, but as it is now it can be a bit difficult and time-consuming.

By Juliana Medaglia

Nov 16, 2018

The course is great! I came out of it with enough knowledge to start reading the books recommended by . the professor and I am having a very good time with them. The course gave me enough knowledge to be able to understand the area's language and apply some of the things I learned at my work.

By Arman Badiei Khorsand

Oct 31, 2018

As an economics student, I enjoyed this course tremendously. I had many biases when it came to qualitative methods but this course proved some of my views were completely wrong while some were proven to be justified. I appreciate the use of mixed methods as I have come to realise no single method of analysis is sufficient if we are to seek the truth. I will probably stick to quantitaive methods most of the time but this course has been an eye opener and will help me when researching topics which are researched in multiples disciplines (e.g economics and sociology).

Dr Moerman is a great teacher who can really make you fall in love with the subject matter.

By Alejandro Saldivia

Oct 26, 2018

The classes are very interesting and useful to improve your research skills.

By Giovanni Giuseppe Simon Meneses Flores

Oct 26, 2018

It´s a very interesting and useful course, the lecturer is very funny, and the contents are well exposed.

By Zainab Hashimi

Oct 25, 2018

It was excellent. loved the enthusiasm of the teacher :)

By Elisavet Andrikopoulou

Oct 22, 2018

the only thing I felt missing was a comparison between qual and quant

By Carolina Beresciuk

Sep 30, 2018

So good teacher!!