Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Quantitative Methods, University of Amsterdam

4.7
944 ratings
312 reviews

About this Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

By LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

By AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

305 Reviews

By Toshan Majumdar

Nov 19, 2018

Good introduction to statistics and social science.

By Anurag Shukla

Nov 10, 2018

Great content! Really liked the clarity with which this course has been designed. Looking forward to a great learning experience.

By Rebecca Taylor

Nov 09, 2018

The lectures can be a little bit dry. However, I really appreciate how very well organized the lectures and the other course content is. It made it very easy to understand the content, and study for the tests. I also learned a lot of really useful basics for conducting better research.

By Arman Badiei Khorsand

Oct 31, 2018

Great course for learning how to design and evaluate quantitaive studies in social science. Highly recommend it to anyone whose university curriculum does not include anything beyond statistical methods when it comes to teaching research methods (I'm talking to economics students like myself).

By Margarita Navarro

Oct 18, 2018

Es un excelente curso, además Coursera me propició el apoyo financiero dos veces. Me ha ayudado mucho y tengo muchas ganas de continuar con la especialización. La docente fue excelente y el contenido estuvo muy bien organizado.

By Yasar Mehmood

Oct 12, 2018

Excellent course. It provides beginners with the working knowledge on how to conduct quantitative research. However, the high passing criteria on weekly quizzes and final exam was frustrating at times. I suggest to ask the participants to develop a product by applying the concepts they have learnt during each week and evaluate (and pass) participants on the basis of this product. Moreover, I missed expert feedback. Although peer evaluation and feedback is very good but it should be augmented by expert feedback (ideally someone from the course staff should also give feedback).

By Juliana Medaglia

Oct 08, 2018

Amazing course! The content is complete and the teacher is really great.

By Rob Giesendorf

Oct 03, 2018

Great course! Thank you Annemarie and UvA—team!

By Mohammed Al-Kabour

Oct 01, 2018

This is a great starting course on the topic of Quant Methods. The program could take an entire semester or two if you want to go in depth, but as a starter, it was just right.

By Deleted Account

Sep 14, 2018

Very informative and well organised course