Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Tutorial and Examples

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Tutorial and Examples by University of London

4.2
240 ratings
54 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will show you exciting examples of collaborative, interactive web applications that use various types of media including sound, images and big data. We will show you how to build sites that provide precisely this functionality, using Meteor. We will also provide fully working example application code that you can use for your own commercial web projects. The course also provides a range of advice and suggestions about how to develop bespoke web applications which match the requirements of clients, where clients are people who commission the product or people who use the product. We will take you through the development of the following applications: 1. A portfolio website with collaborative blogging functionality. 2. An interactive, realtime, multi user music remixing system. 3. An interactive, online graffiti wall where users can collaborate to create graphics. 4. An interactive data visualisation platform for exploring and plotting big data in exciting ways. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Implement animated data visualisations and graphics using advanced user interface libraries such as vis.js • Work with external data sources • Create multi user, realtime, collaborative environments • Use media APIs such as the Web Audio API Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

ZB

May 22, 2017

Exciting course that connects all the previous course's materials together into a professional backdrop. Very rewarding and I can't wait to take the capstone!

VS

Feb 14, 2016

Very excited to wrap up this specialization and go on a high note. Hoping to do an awesome capstone project at the end :)

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 49 Reviews for Responsive Website Tutorial and Examples

By Carlos L

Apr 28, 2019

I would like that the examples were more related to science or economics, and updated it

By Victor W

Oct 12, 2018

assignment made too easy and the starting files are not up to date with the last versions of meteor. It takes a while of search on the internet to fix or the errors.

By Danilo C

Jul 26, 2018

I wish they would have spent more time in some things that were conceptually hard to understand.

By January J

Apr 28, 2018

I actually do not like this course, which is surprising because I really enjoyed the other courses in this specialization. I don't care for this instructor, and the example code routinely has bugs.

By Dawn C

Apr 15, 2018

Horrible course, don't waste your time.

By Carlos C

Mar 30, 2018

It is great, but, from my point of view, parts 1, 2, 3, 4 are a little better.

By Roman S

Feb 08, 2018

Great and useful class! thank you!

By Maria J B V

Nov 16, 2017

Excellent course :)

By John

Sep 12, 2017

It is very practical

By Ahmed R

May 25, 2017

Great course ! it helped me a lot

By Zac B

May 22, 2017

Exciting course that connects all the previous course's materials together into a professional backdrop. Very rewarding and I can't wait to take the capstone!

By Rafael G B

Feb 13, 2017

The contents is really good and easy to learn

By mghachi

Jan 27, 2017

Nul. Null. Null! Vous allez vous casser le nez avec Meteor. En plus, ce n'est pas avec Meteor que vous trouvriez du travail. En plus.... y'a peu de gens inscrit à ce cours... 3 mois et pas encore quelqu'un pour corriger mon dernier cours...... De la foutaise de la part de Coursera!

By Djs

Oct 26, 2016

more challenging than expected, issues with the Meteor hosting/community caused some issues, but good learning experience

By Khalid M S

Oct 18, 2016

thank you

By Marc T

Oct 10, 2016

At first I wasn't sure if the teacher was explaining properly or if projects were just to complex but when I started building my last project, code was just pouring out of my head and I built it in no time. Only then I realized how much I had learned and that I actually understood the subject perfectly. Great course to learn the base of building collaborative and interactive web applications. I would however, strongly recommend starting with the first course in this specialization program for a better foundation into full scale web design & development.

By Christos S

Aug 30, 2016

Not very great examples provided but you certainly can still learn a lot. Also I disagree with using Vis.JS, it's a lousy library!

By Dana N

Aug 15, 2016

Not really a fan of Mick's way of teaching, he seems to have spent most of his time playing with the music or drawing app rather than explaining the features. I also think it would have been helpful to explain more about the purpose of Session.get for retrieving the features and plotting them into data. I think one of the issues with this is there aren't really many active folks on the discussion, so it is difficult to try to find a solution to problems you are having.

By Charles E

Jul 01, 2016

Very good!

By Arvind S

Jun 28, 2016

Amazing showcase of usecases. So much creative freedom throughout.

By George T

Jun 18, 2016

Just showing examples of some good projects and their code at most part of the course .Also comparing Meteor with Wordpress is wrong and I don't think Meteor will reach Wordpress.After all they are different tools for different jobs.

By Gregg H

Jun 15, 2016

A tough course to get through but rewarding. The lecturer is inspired and inspiring, the example code to be used in the projects must be carefully tamed, and it is amazing what students can produce in the end.

By Valentino M

Jun 09, 2016

There's no support from the staff. The staff is completely absent in the recent discussion forums, it seems they have abandoned the course few months ago.

You have your assignments evaluated by only one peer, and that doesn't protect your final grade from wrong evaluations.

By Dijup T

May 31, 2016

It would have better if the talking and coding was at the same time so that we can see its relative changes, which we can see in previous course.

By Oscar J D

May 21, 2016

Good explanaiton of how things work together