Chevron Left
Back to Risk in Modern Society

Risk in Modern Society , Universiteit Leiden

4.7
64 ratings
17 reviews

About this Course

Risk has become one of the defining features of modern society. Almost daily, we are preoccupied with assessing, discussing, or preventing a wide variety of risks. It is a cornerstone notion for businesses and organizations, but also for nation states and their many levels of government. And even for individuals, risk and the avoidance or embracing thereof, is a key theme. The course Risk in Modern Society sheds light on the broad concept of risk. In five distinctive weeks, this course closely examines various types of safety and security risks, and how these are perceived and dealt with in a wide array of professional and academic fields, ranging from criminology, counter-terrorism and cyber security, to philosophy, safety and medical science. Developed in collaboration with scholars from three universities (Leiden, Delft and Erasmus), this course will search for answers to questions such as: “what is risk?”, “how do we study and deal with risk?”, “does ‘perceived risk’ correspond to 'real' risk?”, and “how should we deal with societal perceptions of risk, safety and security?...

Top reviews

By RH

Feb 28, 2018

Excellent presentations by all instructors. Very well laid with enough depth to not overwhelm. Simply superior!

By HW

Aug 17, 2018

Excellent course regarding the knowledge of present day risks

Filter by:

17 Reviews

By Dennis Voss

Mar 30, 2019

I got a good understanding of the difference between safety and security. However, the course could be a little bit longer and in some parts more deeper.

By Gunther Baugh

Feb 07, 2019

This course is an excellent introduction to risk and how society organizes itself around the management of risk. It was a topic that I was interested in, and now that interest has been magnified greatly. They provided very practical explanations within an overarching framework that can be applied in many ways. The quality of the instructors was absolutely top-notch.

By Josue David Santana Carvajal

Jan 15, 2019

fantastic

By ali ahmed

Jan 14, 2019

Great it was helpful

and advanced training according to me

By jessica dos santos nure

Nov 08, 2018

Curso incrível que além de contextualizar todos os conteúdos com dados históricos, dados de pesquisas e com a realidade, conta com um corpo docente altamente qualificado e os materiais indicados para aprofundamento do aprendizado são extremamente relevantes e precisos.

By Haryanto Wicaksono

Aug 17, 2018

Excellent course regarding the knowledge of present day risks

By Carlos Albuquerque

Jun 27, 2018

Excellent course! I broadened my view and ability to reason about risks in modern society.

By ETIM JOSEPHINE

May 24, 2018

EXCELLENT

By Ashok Kumar

May 16, 2018

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

a

n

d

r

e

l

a

v

e

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

.

T

h

a

n

ks to the instructors and the university and Coursera for putting this course. I am sure this course will be updated every time the new risks show on horizon.

By Sean brown

May 01, 2018

Excellent class, well taught with important information!