Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Perception

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Perception by University of Pennsylvania

4.4
456 ratings
120 reviews

About the Course

How can robots perceive the world and their own movements so that they accomplish navigation and manipulation tasks? In this module, we will study how images and videos acquired by cameras mounted on robots are transformed into representations like features and optical flow. Such 2D representations allow us then to extract 3D information about where the camera is and in which direction the robot moves. You will come to understand how grasping objects is facilitated by the computation of 3D posing of objects and navigation can be accomplished by visual odometry and landmark-based localization....

Top reviews

SK

Apr 01, 2018

Outstanding Course! I could always count on Prof.Jianbo to crunch some of the most complex and confusing parts of the course into a much easier understandable language.

LR

Jan 01, 2019

This is quite challenging course. So far, this is the course with the largest amount of material, I wish the class will be split into two courses.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 117 Reviews for Robotics: Perception

By Joaquin R

Sep 05, 2018

The english of the teachers is difficult to understand. Is good to know that you can become a professor of Penn university with that english, but to be in front of a camere they should select somebody understandable.

The level of the course is way too difficult. I have a bachelor in computer science, a master in computer science and a bachelor in mathematics, so I don't think the problem is the material, but how it's teached. You are supposed to solve very complicated assigments just with the videos and that's a too big challenge. They don't spend the time with examples and detailed approach.

Thanks god that the course has been active for several years and there's enough help in the forums. By the way, people in the forums complaint about the poor support of the teachers and assistants in the forums.

Very bad course in general.

By SH H H

Dec 02, 2016

Sloppy, unorganized, and poorly presented. Try the similar class on EdX and YouTube for a much better and clear explanation and presentation.

By Rafael C

May 21, 2016

The assignments and weekly work is by far much more than the hours estimated. Finally I feel as I didn't learn anything.

By LIANG X

May 09, 2016

The least comprehensive course I ever took. It needs very good prerequisite about computer vision. And the demostration was very poor.

By Rob S

Oct 17, 2016

The content is very good but the lecture presentation and structure could use improvement. Assignment instructions are not as clear as they could be.

By Qirui Z

Jun 06, 2019

Still some errors in the homework PDF (The codes are all working though). And the curriculum seems a little bit redundant. Also hope there will be more emphasis on emerging applications like visual odometry and SLAM, in stead of spending too much time on the ancient geometry (It's not expected to always have a checkerboard in your image? :-) ).

By Xu D

May 27, 2019

Love this!

By Chinthaka A

May 24, 2019

Great course, I been able to develop new skills and knowledge. Highly Recommended.

By Lokesh

May 08, 2019

The course content is exceptionally well and material is well designed. Since most of the concepts are in-depth more support will be required in discussion forums. I feel the response from mentors is slow and have to wait days for their reply to clarify the doubts.

By DEEPAK K P

Apr 10, 2019

Not at all formulated for bachelors

By Bálint - H F

Mar 20, 2019

Great !

By dawn

Mar 12, 2019

Thanks to Coursera and Penn, Good lessons of Robotics.

By Martin Z

Mar 06, 2019

There were a lot of error in the materials even after all those years. Also the instructor's English is hard to understand sometimes. In addition to that they do a lot of waving around with their hands instead of marking things directly in the pictures.

By Hakeem K

Mar 05, 2019

I was motivated all through the course. Very good content

By Hamid M B

Mar 02, 2019

One of the most usefful courses I have taken by the coursera. Thank you for useful materail covered here.

By Ricardo A R

Feb 14, 2019

Need more videos for final weeks, hard to follow last week of the course

By Fredo P C

Feb 03, 2019

Great Course!

By Aman B

Jan 29, 2019

It was interesting, but damn the lectures are never ending.

By pavana a S

Jan 11, 2019

Great course!. There is a lot of information. It should be a 6 week course!

By Luis A D R

Jan 01, 2019

This is quite challenging course. So far, this is the course with the largest amount of material, I wish the class will be split into two courses.

By Liang L

Dec 27, 2018

The professors have very detailed description, and the programming assignments are valuable.

By Daniel C

Dec 23, 2018

To put it simply: Shi's content is good and Danniilidis' content is bad.

By hiback

Dec 19, 2018

The lecture is pretty good, learned a lot from it.But there are some bugs in assignment's pdf. Fortunately, our community forum pointed out these errors. Hoping they could fix it for better understanding.

By Xiaotao G

Dec 16, 2018

It is hard compared to previous courses and need more time on it. But quite helpful!

By Anh T

Nov 04, 2018

Extremely challenging... took me 3 months to pass the course. It required me to go to Khan Academy and revise all about Linear Algebra + Derivatives... Especially Null Space and Jacobian ... It's challenging but it's really good.