Chevron Left
Back to The Music of the Rolling Stones, 1962-1974

The Music of the Rolling Stones, 1962-1974, University of Rochester

4.7
111 ratings
29 reviews

About this Course

This course will survey the music of the Rolling Stones, beginning with the roots and first formation of the band in the early 1960s, and following the group through the release of It's Only Rock 'n' Roll in late 1974....

Top reviews

By GB

Aug 10, 2017

I have completed every last one of John Covach's courses and he has inspired my way of playing my own music and the way I hear new music. He is, by far, the best teacher on Coursera.

By KR

Aug 15, 2016

I love this course, I keep on taking it over and over again as much as I possibly can.\n\nI always learn something different and new.\n\nThanks ; )

Filter by:

28 Reviews

By Lisa Marie S.

Nov 02, 2018

This class is excellent! The instructor is quite knowledgeable. I appreciate that the instructor is not only a musicologist and professor, but he's a musician too. I appreciate this as a musician myself. I'm a bit of a music geek and I am a huge fan of the Rolling Stones. I especially enjoyed learning about the early Stones' music, since I was more of a fan of their early 1970s work. It was a great experience to have the instructor do so many song close up's during this course. I loved delving into the structures of some of my favorite songs, including ones I've actually performed myself as a singer and guitar player. I recommend taking your time with this class, but definitely do a module weekly, so that you stay on top of things. I appreciated that there was a visual aspect to the course, especially since music couldn't be used, due to copyright issues (boo!). I loved getting snippets of history and pop culture mixed in with the information on the Stones, since I wasn't born until 1972 and wasn't around to experience some of that. On a side note, this course is one I had bookmarked to take since 2015. I just happened to be on the Coursera website the day it was starting in 2018. I felt excited and knew it was meant to be for me! On a personal note, my late mom who passed in 2015 was a huge Stones' fan, so this class helped me understand her pre-teen and teen years, as well as my early childhood in the 1970s. I felt a connection to the time period, music, people, and of course, the Stones too. I always have felt connected to their music, being blessed to have seen them play live in 2015, not even one month after my mom passed. I mention the personal aspects, since sometimes, I believe we feel drawn to delve into our passions, but don't feel we have the time to do so. Please take the time to follow your passions, interests, and education. Life is too short! It is time well spent. It's so much better than scrolling on social media. This class really is amazing. You won't be disappointed. Thanks to Coursera for having this class and also, to the instructor John Covach. Rock 'n roll forever!

By mansi gupta

Oct 01, 2018

its easy

By Luca Marenchino

Jul 07, 2018

Very interesting approach to the first years in Rolling Stones history. It gives the opportunity to deep dive into their musical evolution and influences taking a look also on what was happening in the meantime in culture. Hoping to have the possibility to see what it will happen from 1974 onwards!

By Scott Dawson

Mar 15, 2018

Excellent course. Like most people who grew up in the 70's, I was familiar with the Stones hits, had a few of their records, etc.. I don't know if I skipped over the slow songs or what, but this got me listening to their music again. I was really impressed with the depth and different genre's that they were influenced by.

By John Raymond Pomerville

Nov 22, 2017

Great and challenging course. thnk you, Professor

By Catherine Chapman

Sep 23, 2017

Great intro to a music powerhouse of the 20th century, which provides further opportunities for research after the course's conclusion. Simultaneously musicological and historical, which is nice. Those looking for a social/cultural class will find some relevance, but it mostly examines the growth of the band as a musical entity, taking into account some of the current society's influence and noting the Band's role in anti-establishment attitudes, but not really delving into the larger reaction (try History of Rock 1 and 2 if you have the chance)! Dr. Covach is a perfect instructor for this course.

A good parallel/companion study for the other course from the same institution/professor, Music of the Beatles, but in that light, a tad more complex to follow along--although I've gotten into the swing of things, note taking (following the lectures) is much more consonant in the Beatles class and initially hectic here, so just between the two is my tiny complaint.

Also, a fairly challenging course to fit in to a regular school schedule (odd but true for me at least) the lectures are about an hour to an hour and thirty minutes, I usually take time out to search & listen to excerpts of the songs on spotify which probably takes maybe thirty minutes to an hour depending on how many releases are talked about in lecture and how many of those are covers (which adds searching for original versions)--and with the special features, it's a solid three-credit-hour class, despite its half-term length. Definitely for anyone (fans and newbies alike) to take, but be ready!

By George Burton

Aug 10, 2017

I have completed every last one of John Covach's courses and he has inspired my way of playing my own music and the way I hear new music. He is, by far, the best teacher on Coursera.

By Cristiano Soares Arantes da Silveira

Jul 26, 2017

Very good course. I would like to congratulate both the teacher and coursera for this successful endeavor. And would like to sugest a course about the music of Michael Jackson.

By enrique bernal ramos

Jul 16, 2017

It was a great course!

By Richard A Reddy

Mar 30, 2017

Good Course!