Chevron Left
Back to Roman Art and Archaeology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Roman Art and Archaeology by University of Arizona

4.6
313 ratings
95 reviews

About the Course

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

Top reviews

VJ

Jul 06, 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

RB

Feb 06, 2017

Very well structured course. interesting topics, good pace, nice video's, interesting guest lectures and not too easy test question made this an interesting learning experience.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 91 Reviews for Roman Art and Archaeology

By Wim

Dec 22, 2017

the so called peer-graded assigments do not add anything to the value of the course, I would say on the contrary. otherwise, a good overview of the Roman civilisation and culture, although major aspects are missing; the language, the impact on the western modern civilisation, the literature, the daily life of the Romans, etc. Professor Soren is a very nice presenter of the course, although review of the past lecture would not be superfluous.

By Wendi S

Jul 29, 2017

For a course on art and archaeology, there seemed to be little shown. More time was spent with Dr. Soren sitting behind a desk or standing at an empty site, usually reading off the teleprompter. This course lends itself to a lot of visuals, yet that part of the course was very skimpy. And why the old movie trailers? Why did we see a whole video on Troy? This isn't even Roman, beyond the fact that several emperors likened themselves to Alexander and some Hellenistic art influence. That's not what the video referenced. Again, it was just about the discovery of Troy, historical, with no attempt to make it relevant to the course itself. I know some historical background is needed to keep the work in context, but this was more of a history class than an art-based one. And as much as I love dogs, was that really necessary? Trying to be funny or cute didn't work.

By Latrish T B

Jun 12, 2019

So far I like the course.

It is not easy and requires lots of study but very interesting in facts, knowledge and information.

By Susi A R

Apr 16, 2019

fantastic

By Susanne P

Mar 29, 2019

The course was a great experience for me. In addition I like the little dog. She was not always interested but a very helpful auditor.

By Anil R

Feb 26, 2019

Solid course for those interested in Roman History. A little meandering at times with tangential diversions into stuff like Marine Archaeology and even studying history through Tree aging but interesting and well paced most of the time.

By Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

good

By Francisco L

Feb 10, 2019

Un genial profesor.

By Maria i

Nov 23, 2018

Amazing and entertaining course! I totally recommend to everyone looking for a broad panoram on Roman history.

By Manuel A M A

Nov 01, 2018

Bastante didáctico e conciso en la información que entrega

By Samer M K

Oct 20, 2018

Its a great course. Thanks.

By Wojciech W

Oct 20, 2018

Amazing course. Dr Soren did a great hard job. The course has a lot of information, interviews and proffesional films.

By Jen S

Oct 14, 2018

Enjoyable & informative. A great warm-up for going back to college.

Thanks!!

By Stuart B S

Sep 29, 2018

Lively and interesting course. I particularly like the side stories involving how ancient items were made and used.

By Aditya R

Sep 11, 2018

Best for those who really love history and archaeology !!

By jeannette l w

Aug 26, 2018

So very interesting. Great instructor

By Esteban A

Jul 12, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and the information taught by Dr. Soren!

By Megan C

Jul 05, 2018

super engaging videos!

By Giuseppe G

Jul 03, 2018

Wonderful course on Roman history and archaeology. Enjoyed it very much.

By Leonel R

Mar 05, 2018

Loved it, a great starting point for anyone interested in the roman culture/art/architecture.

By Diana G P

Jan 17, 2018

I strongly recommend this course of Archaeology because it is made with a great love of Roman history and it is very interesting. David Soren is a passionate orator and it is a pleasure to listen to him and the others collaborators, which are very passionated with Roman history too.

By Tammi D

Jan 06, 2018

Very informative. Good choice of assignment questions. Beautiful pictures to support the lectures.

By Peter M A

Nov 19, 2017

Excellent course supported by great visual material. THank you.

By Huong N

Nov 09, 2017

this course helped me sooooo much

By Joanna C

Oct 18, 2017

Interesting and informative course. Very good