Chevron Left
Back to Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Russian History: from Lenin to Putin by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.7
231 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Top reviews

AG

Mar 26, 2018

Great class and the professor did an excellent job relaying the information. Honestly, I wish it was a little longer and a little more in depth. Definitely, learned a lot.

SB

Sep 16, 2018

This was a great course i really enjoyed the lectures i would forget i was stuck at home and felt as if i was back in a lecture hall! Would recommend to anyone to take!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 72 Reviews for Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

By sanjay R

Mar 06, 2019

This is a very balanced and in depth journey about Russia by the leading scholar. Every episode was a such a treat. Highly grateful and Salute !

By Jesper O A

Dec 17, 2017

Mr Kenez is making a remarkable presentation of Russian history. Very structured and balanced. Impressive knowledge. Thanks for a very interesting course.

By Greg L

Apr 16, 2018

The flow of the lectures was challenging to follow and, while the opinions of the professor appeared to be logical and well founded, I struggled with finding documented support for some of the assertions.

By Peter B

Dec 12, 2018

This course gives a great overview of Russian history: It explains why Russian / Soviet leaders did what they did, but it describes the "immense" suffering of ordinary citizens in the 20th century, too. Thank you, Peter Kenez!

By Armando B M

Jan 29, 2019

Great course!!!! Thank you very much prof. Peter kenez. I've learned a lot!!!!!!

By Jay v R

Jan 29, 2019

Excellent course that showed me a really broad picture of Russian history in the 20th century. Professor did an excellent job in opening various aspects of such a complex topic. My only concern was that his English was a tiny bit broken and he spoke quite slowly (so I watched everything on 1.25x speed). All in all it was a great experience!

By Thay J

Feb 05, 2019

Terrific class. Vastly knowledgeable and charming professor. Hours of interesting lectures that are both cogent and entertaining. Dr. Kenezs' insites are valuable and relevant and a product of his obvious mastery of the subject.

A small disappointment of mine was that there wasn't any supplimenntary reading required or suggested. I only wish that there were links to optional relevent reading for each module. But this is a minor point for overachievers like myself. The lectures provide enough material to get a good handle on the subject and Trranscript s are also available for rereading.

Thanks for a great class!

By WonJun K

Nov 22, 2018

A thorough review of modern Russian history. The professor is very intelligent, but you might need some background knowledge to fully appreciate the lecture. Nevertheless, still a great course for sheer beginners!

By Gerald H

Jan 23, 2019

I learned an entirely different impression of Russian history and gained more understanding of the people, I felt the instructor presented the history as a story with great background and experience, A wonderful course.

By Tony M

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent teacher and course!

By Olga S

Mar 09, 2019

Thank you, professor, for your deep understanding of Russian history and Russian soul.

By Limell L

Mar 20, 2019

Thank you professor Kenez for this excellent course! I enjoyed it immensely and learned a great deal.

By Daria P

Aug 02, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Professor Peter Kenez presents all the information in a very interesting and understandable for everyone way without prejudice, only facts. Thanks for this fascinating course.

By Yasiru R

Aug 15, 2018

Good course to learn the Russian History. <3

By Luisa J

Sep 14, 2018

This course is amazing.... I'm not a historian but history is my hobby and I love reading about WWII and Russian history. This course was perfect because I just read a book on the Tzarist period and this was the perfect complement. Professor Kenez is very knowledgeable and it's incredible how he speaks without reading notes or having a script to look at...

I found this course to be very complete, enjoyable and interesting and I would highly recommend it. Thank you professor.

By Sara B

Sep 16, 2018

This was a great course i really enjoyed the lectures i would forget i was stuck at home and felt as if i was back in a lecture hall! Would recommend to anyone to take!

By Alena V

Nov 01, 2018

Thank you for the course! As a russian I had a great opportunity to look at the history of my country form another point of view. Brilliant!

By Diego P

Jun 08, 2018

Very good, thank you

By Antônio M G

Oct 21, 2017

Professor Peter Kenez is amazing!

By Stephen T

Dec 22, 2017

A very interesting and well-presented course which dovetails nicely with Stalin and Stalinism. It is simply designed and easy to follow.

By Suzanne C

Dec 04, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course and hope that Professor Kenez is working on another course covering the period from 1940 to the present. I think that it very important that we understand Russia, especially now.

By Danny T

Feb 23, 2018

Great course. Well Done!

By JOHN Q

Oct 22, 2017

Nice review of Russian History over the past century. I really enjoyed the course. Thanks so much!

By Elisandra S

May 31, 2018

Wonderful course. Very well structured and dynamic!

By Maksim H

Dec 20, 2017

I cannot recommend this course more than giving it five stars. Actually a one-star review have sparked my interest to go through the history of my motherland from the perspective of the foreign professor. Reviewer claimed that professor is biased towards Putin and watches Russia Today all the time. It cannot be further from the truth! After listening week three I am convinced that this "reviewer" is actually a Kremlin-paid-troll whose only aim to discredit this material.

The story is filled with empathy to russian people and I am genuinely grateful to professor Kenez for sharing these lectures and his efforts to shed light on troubled russian history.