Chevron Left
Back to Science of Exercise

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science of Exercise by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
781 ratings
221 reviews

About the Course

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Top reviews

R

Sep 04, 2017

A very good course for all students of any age. The knowledge of exercise will help in daily life. Moreover to remain fit exercise and its advantages are explained in easy and suitable manner.

TB

May 28, 2018

It is a great course that will summarize information about exercise, physiological systems, metabolism and adaptations after training. Excellent video lectures and articles recommended.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 219 Reviews for Science of Exercise

By Bryce P

Dec 31, 2018

Awesome course! very satisfying. One critique is the outdated nutritional information (ie american food guide pyramid) It would be nice to see the aknowledgment of new research in the areas of nutrition (ie saturated fats don't cause heart disease and cholesterol isn't a bad thing)

By Isaac D A

May 12, 2018

The course is well structured but at some point it gets very repetitive and it feels it put more stress on certain activities like endurance training.

Beside that, I really didn't like that I couldn't take the tests to check my understanding without purchasing the course. Either It should be noted at the begging of the course that my options are limited or it should be allowed me to test my self even if I don't what to buy the course.

By Michaela B

Mar 07, 2019

It was an excellent experience and I have learned a lot. It helped me to understand my body even better, especially since I am regularly exercising as well. I can highly recommend it.

By Tércio A d R B

May 28, 2018

It is a great course that will summarize information about exercise, physiological systems, metabolism and adaptations after training. Excellent video lectures and articles recommended.

By Ravindranath. B K

Sep 04, 2017

A very good course for all students of any age. The knowledge of exercise will help in daily life. Moreover to remain fit exercise and its advantages are explained in easy and suitable manner.

By Barbara R U

Nov 19, 2018

So interesting course!

By pravin p

Dec 05, 2018

amazing course very good ans easy to understand

By Brenda T M N

Dec 09, 2018

Excelente curso.

By Manisha

Dec 09, 2018

Awesome course. Concepts are well explained.

By Sebastián Q

Dec 30, 2018

Excellent course

By David G C

Jan 27, 2019

Absolutely love it , I am currently a digital advertisers for a digital agency , I love sports specially climbing so I wanted to learn more about my own body, this course surpassed my expectations and now I am seriously consider a shift on profession, or at least dig deeper.

By Khushbookakkad

Jan 04, 2019

This course really helped me to understand the physiology of the athlete and understand the systems in detail.

By Veda A

Jan 04, 2019

Very informational and well explained. Deep understandings for me as a yoga practicionar

By Julien B

Jan 31, 2019

The teacher is very clear and the course very structured.

By ANJALIKA R

Feb 01, 2019

Lectures are very informative , really good for the knowledge at basic level. Thank you Professor for such a wonderful course. Highly recommended.

By Karlien d B

Feb 05, 2019

The course is detailed yet simply presented in such a way that a laymen without a biological or medical background can understand how the cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrine and nervous systems are impacted by physical activity.

By Tomas

Nov 20, 2018

Very good introduction for those who seek a broad understanding of the science behind the exercise.

By Luis E G y G

Nov 20, 2018

Great course, excellent content, it covers all the basic topics about exercise science, instructor is great, the content is precise and greatly displayed.

By Alice Z

Nov 30, 2018

In truth I did not "do" the course but watched most of for the information I needed to update for personal health. I found the lectures well done. Explanations done in simple, factual body and chemicals allows this course to be of benefit to anyone desiring to improve endurance or strength while improving overall health. In addition myths are dispelled; evidence prevented when myths are not myths. Well done!

By Rick L

Jan 17, 2019

i loved

By Angelika K

Jan 05, 2019

After this course, you will gain all the knowledge about execrise phisiology. You will understand from basis what is happening in your body during both rest and training. Its very accessible, i reccommend it to everyone who wants to know more about sport and health.

By Tiago M C

Jan 21, 2019

A perfect course with plenty of depth and detail. It is explained very clearly in a way that will increase knowledge and will to know more about nutrition and several other performance enhancing techniques. Highly recommended!

By Fernando I H P

Feb 12, 2019

MUY COMPLETO, absolutamente recomendado. Aunque no se bien inglés, me estoy apoyando con el traductor de google; sin embargo, he comprendido mucha información

By K Y

Feb 16, 2019

osm

By Ahmed A

Feb 15, 2019

I love this course