Chevron Left
Back to Buddhism and Modern Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Buddhism and Modern Psychology by Princeton University

4.8
3,132 ratings
885 reviews

About the Course

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 879 Reviews for Buddhism and Modern Psychology

By JULIO C M

Feb 21, 2019

¿Y si la mente al recibir un alimento "sano de verdad..." se desarrollara hacia insospechados límites?.

¿Y si en verdad lo hiciere...?.

Meditar, autoobservarse y observarlo todo sin prejuicios, seguramente nos acerca desde nuestra mayor calma, a ser más protagonistas en la construcción de un mundo mejor.

By Iromi P

Dec 23, 2018

This is a great effort which should be appreciated. Just because at a time like this, some are curious to know about the Buddhism, & with the psychological background, which adds more value for this.

By akhil v

Jun 22, 2019

awesome course,nice way to exploration..Thank you

By Erika V R

Jun 16, 2019

Loved it, great teacher and subject.

By 邓志昊

Jun 16, 2019

这个课程连接了自然主义佛教和进化心理学,很有启发性

By Shikha A

Jun 15, 2019

Its a great course for anyone who wants to understand Buddhism in relation to modern psychology. The topics have been covered with lot of depth and clarity. And there are many talks with eminent people in respective fields to give additional inputs about the topics. I really like this course and would look forward to do more courses by the same instructor.

By Ruchi V

Jun 15, 2019

A well structured, conceptually rich, and intellectually fulfilling course for all students of psychology, as well as for those who wish to delve into the questions of where modern psychology and religion (In this case, Buddhism) stand relative to each other.

By michael w w

Jun 12, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, with the detail on how evolutionary psychology supports Buddhist ideas. Prof. Robert Wright is engaging, and the practical observations provided by Fraser and Milo are noteworthy. I highly recommend this thought provoking course.

By Champika K

Jun 12, 2019

I am finally finding a way to understand what the Buddha taught.

By roze a c

Jun 11, 2019

I truly enjoyed this course with Professor Wright and all of the other wonderful teachers who took part in the teachings. It has been a long time dream to be able to study at Princeton University. Now, a part of my dream has come to pass. Thank you for the opportunity to spread my wings a little bit further.

By Sudha R

Jun 10, 2019

I find this course greatly stimulating and has helped me gain personally. Thank you Coursera for this unique opportunity. I took this course to just motivate some body else found it good for me.

By Beatriz V

Jun 05, 2019

the best

By Juergen B

Jun 03, 2019

Brilliantly presented. I am in no way spiritual and love the scientic evidence presented. This course has brought spirituality closer to me. There are a lot of questions science raises and combining two so seemingly different camps as Buddhist spirituality with "hard" science offers new answers or at least new viewpoints.

By James A

May 30, 2019

Fantastic course

By Mark L

May 27, 2019

Four and a half stars!

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot from it. As a meditator, someone who has an interest in science and pshchology as well as buddhism, I found the course enlightening and was particularly interested in some of the parallels drawn between the buddhism and modern psychology. This course provides insight into the workings of the mind. Points for improvement are amending the time requirements as the additional resource section took hours to complete rather than the 10 minutes or so alloted. I liked Robert style and the way he shares his thinking process, but sometimes felt he could have got to the point a bit quicker than he does.

By Lucilo d S v

May 24, 2019

Amazing course

By Luciano A

May 23, 2019

Amei o curso, no entanto estou utilizando os mesmos para aprimorar meu inglês.

By JANE L M L

May 13, 2019

It was very valuable course, I am sure I can use lots of the context to help people that suffer -without realising- how nature has a huge impact over our feelings.

By Daan v R

May 12, 2019

This may be my favorite course on Coursera so far. I think especially in combination with Paul Bloom's Intro to Psych it was extremely helpful and insightful. The material taught and especially all the additional readings, videos and references was quite exhaustive and made for an incredibly enriching few weeks.

By Douglas F

May 04, 2019

Awesome course. Well organized lecture material and very interesting course content. Highly recommended.

By Valentina B

May 04, 2019

Great course, super enjoyable and makes you reflex a lot about yourself. Highly recommended!

By Richard Z

May 04, 2019

A very good course indeed.

By Giorgios X

May 02, 2019

Thank you for this course

By ANINDYA C

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent collection of real wisdom

By Sionade C K K

Apr 14, 2019

AWESOME AND VERY INTERESTING MATERIAL.