Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Writing in the Sciences, Stanford University

4.9
1,343 ratings
412 reviews

About this Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

By T

Feb 01, 2019

The course is so informative that I think everyone should take a try. It provides us a fundamental elements to write in a professional way that is not only for our study but also for our profession.

By HE

Dec 20, 2017

Thanks Dr. Kristin for this interesting course. It was so useful. I have learnt a lot from it. Your pretty way of teaching encouraged me to complete the course. Thanks for this exciting experience.

Filter by:

414 Reviews

By Rebecca McConnell

Apr 25, 2019

Extremely useful!

By Kathleen Chalaron

Apr 24, 2019

Excellent course! Very useful and practical information.

By Matiushenko Svitlana

Apr 23, 2019

The course was very informative and useful. It helped to develop my writing and editing skills. Highly recommended. Thank you very much!

By Hira Farhat

Apr 22, 2019

This is an excellent course for everyone, either from science or non science background. I loved the way Instructor speaks. She is so polite and lovely. Thank you for all that I learned from you.

I suggest to add videos related to submitting paper to Journal, that is also a difficult job.

Regards

Hira

By RITIKA CHAUHAN

Apr 21, 2019

Wonderful Experience! Writing in Sciences is very Interesting course-well explained by Dr. Kristin Sainani. I learnt smart ways to put ideas into paper. I would suggest everyone to try this course to improve writing skills.

By Mohamed Ibrahem

Apr 21, 2019

Thanks for the Dr for this course

By Antonio Torregrosa García

Apr 18, 2019

This course should be a "must" for any PhD students or prospective researchers. It gives a clear method for writing scientific research with good examples, and helps to "clear the fog" we (students) usually have when drafting our first article. It also provide a guide on how to manage workload (and writing techniques) to avoid frequent mistakes among young writers. I wish I had known this course earlier!

By Renán Eduardo Barriga Pérez

Apr 16, 2019

Very good course, I wish I did it by the time I was doing my Master studies in The Netherlands. It would have been quite useful. The insights I gained here are superior to what I got from the writing labs at Wageningen.

By marcela sofia negrete vasquez

Apr 16, 2019

EXCELLENT

By Erin Conklin Kimaoui

Apr 15, 2019

Great course! I really enjoyed the videos and the unique take the professor had on the subject matter.