Chevron Left
Back to Securing and Integrating Components of your Application

Securing and Integrating Components of your Application, Google Cloud

4.6
298 ratings
32 reviews

About this Course

In this course, application developers learn how to design and develop cloud-native applications that seamlessly integrate components from the Google Cloud ecosystem. Through a combination of presentations, demos, and hands-on labs, participants learn how to develop more secure applications, implement federated identity management, and integrate application components by using messaging, event-driven processing, and API gateways....

Top reviews

By JJ

Mar 27, 2018

Easy to follow and quite applicable information is taught without too many difficult technical words and lists. I felt that I could implement or help others implement these applications.

By SF

Jul 09, 2018

A good overview of the technology with the opportunity to do hands on in the labs. A really good approach.

Filter by:

32 Reviews

By Ivanicio Barros da Silva Junior

Feb 15, 2019

Excelente!

By Aditya Godara

Feb 14, 2019

1 star because one of the instructor speaks too fast without proper pauses and feels like rushing the course videos. Not happy at all.

By Alexis KARA

Jan 30, 2019

merci beaucoup

By Timur Garafutdinov

Jan 27, 2019

great course, and easy

By James Hegedus

Jan 16, 2019

Best course on Coursera thus far. Great intro to all the essential tools in GCP

By Justin Renzo

Jan 10, 2019

GREAT

By Nicolas Tarzia

Jan 07, 2019

Awesome course, bring to us a lot of content to secure our application

By Jose Roy G. Javelosa

Dec 28, 2018

Concise but precise

By Sheldon Rampton

Dec 28, 2018

This course provided quite a bit of good information, but I was disappointed in the lab titled "App Dev: Developing a Backend Service v1.1." I encountered what appear to be significant discrepancies between the API documentation referenced in the lab vs. the code and instructions in the lab itself. I posted a question about this in the forum but haven't yet received an answer:

https://www.coursera.org/learn/securing-integrating-components-app/discussions/weeks/1/threads/glDMJQiAEem7-g4LpU0M2g

I also thought that this lab was much too long and should have been broken into at least a couple of labs. It was at least an order of magnitude more work to get through than any of the previous labs I have encountered in several Google Cloud Platform classes on Coursera. It required a substantial coding effort which was made more difficult because of the problems with the API documentation that I mentioned above. It required writing code to send and receive messages using Pub/Sub, to do a machine learning exercise, and then setting up Spanner and persisting data there. I think it required more than a "working knowledge" of Node.js. I found myself needing to interrupt the lab to look up information about asynchronous messages in Node.js and other topics related to getting through the lab. I was in fact unable to complete the lab within the two-hour time limit and therefore had to save all my work and go through it a second time, combined with a fair amount of reading beyond the information available in the course itself, without which I would not have been able to complete the lab.

This of course gave me quite a bit of learning experience, but I would prefer to get that learning in more easily plannable, smaller chunks. If a lab is going to require more than two hours of my time, I'd like to have a better idea that this may be the case before I start and the timing meter is running.

By Diego Custódio da Silva

Dec 18, 2018

Great course... Congratulations for tutors! Thank you Coursera and Google!