Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions, University of Pennsylvania

4.8
819 ratings
216 reviews

About this Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....
Filter by:

211 Reviews

By Sagar Goswami

Nov 30, 2018

Great UI and explanation.Started with the Engg. maths and taking it to high school and for the Developer like me Big O is something which introduced in a appropriate way..:)

By Yashh Sachin Kotecha

Nov 29, 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

By Ross Luhmann

Nov 27, 2018

This is a much more in-depth calc class than I've had at univ, and by more in-depth I mean it's harder. That being said I feel like I understand the material better as before there was much more memorization whereas this has more explanation. A++++++ would take again.

By Misty Kurek

Nov 27, 2018

I appreciated the in depth theory and mechanics.

By Robert Herbert

Nov 26, 2018

Great course! A particularly novel and extremely well-done presentation of the basics of calculus, part of a multi-course sequence that covers the whole of single variable calculus. Also worth a serious look is Professor Ghrist's material on multivariate calculus, available on You Tube. See his Penn web site for more details (http://www.math.upenn.edu/~ghrist/).

By augustin muhindo katulano

Nov 12, 2018

the course was good for me ,i undestand it very well

By Taeho Kim

Nov 05, 2018

This course is a good for refresher for people who took A-Level Further Mathematics or equivalent. By taking the course, you'll be able to look at functions in a different way. The questions are also slightly time consuming (or should I say 'challenging') which helps you have a solid understanding.

By Candice

Oct 23, 2018

Good!

By shahin samadov

Oct 09, 2018

perfect

By Dmitry Platonov

Oct 07, 2018

That's is really hard course. I think lecturer gives not enough information for doing homework. For example: big-O notation confuse me and I learn a lot of materials from another universities from web. Single web page for help that recommented in course is broken.