Chevron Left
Back to Presentation skills: Designing Presentation Slides

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Presentation skills: Designing Presentation Slides by National Research Tomsk State University

4.7
180 ratings
73 reviews

About the Course

“Powerpoint slides are like children: no matter how ugly they are, you’ll think they’re beautiful if they’re yours” — Scott Adams, author of the comic strip “Dilbert”. Due to this cause or another, it’s a huge stress to look at most Powerpoint slides. Depending on the “design” skills of the speaker and audience’s taste slides create different emotions from a slight annoyance to physical sickness. But that is not the worst thing. The worst thing is that instead of improving the presentation such slides confuse the audience, distract it and finally oblige the speaker to explain them rather than being quite self-explanatory. The goal of this course is to change that by equipping learners with a set of tools to create simple, clear and aesthetic slides which improve the presentation of the speaker. The course covers universal design principles, templates, colors, typefaces, slides’ typography, use of photos and pictograms, composition rules and ways to create clear and meaningful charts and diagrams. This course is not a PowerPoint fundamentals course. You should have a basic knowledge of either Microsoft PowerPoint or Apple Keynote software. Don’t meddle, make your slides matter....

Top reviews

GY

Oct 05, 2018

This class has cleared many misconceptions about Powerpoint designs. And has introduced many useful skills to greatly improve your presentation in terms of clarity and passing the right message.

EF

Jun 19, 2019

This course should be mandatory for anyone before that person is allowed to work in any job!\n\nGreat content, some key principles for working in PowerPoint.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 73 Reviews for Presentation skills: Designing Presentation Slides

By Geng Y

Oct 05, 2018

This class has cleared many misconceptions about Powerpoint designs. And has introduced many useful skills to greatly improve your presentation in terms of clarity and passing the right message.

By Kate S

Dec 29, 2018

I actually learnt a lot with this course. The lecturer's material was worth the first month's subscription. The main issue with the course is the assignments. Firstly, one of the tests was so difficult to pass (the one about how large an audience the slides would be suitable for). It really wasted my time to continually do that test in order to pass it and get to the next stage. I don't think it taught me much and I didn't want to have this happen again later. Secondly, the peer-graded assignments are a good idea but some students assign very bad marks without giving reasons and their own slides are low quality, which puts their judgement in doubt. I saw students complaining that they they got marked 0 for using the wrong font, even when they used the right font. Given my experience with a bad marker who set random scores, I'm not surprised. These people waste our time and I wish they could be filtered. For example, if people get consistently bad marks for their own slides, the marks they give should be worth less than the average person, because they are not a conscientious student anyway. In summary, because of the issues with the assignments that caused delays, I just listened to the course and didn't do the assignments. I wanted to push through the issues, but then just decided it wasn't worth it. The content was good.

By affonso d

Nov 24, 2018

Just A-MA-ZING!

If everybody took this course corporate life would be so much easier and better. It teaches you to add visual confort on top of the content that you´re trying to deliver. Recommend it very much!

By Eduardo d A M

Jan 11, 2019

Aprendi muito e obtive ótimos materiais

By Nicole

Feb 28, 2019

I can't explain enough how much this course was helpful for a pptx amateur like me!! I'm very proud of what I learned by the end of the course, will revisit it later for sure. I highly recommend it for everyone, professional or not.

By Michele I

Mar 01, 2019

Able to utilize knowledge immediately for instant results.

By Ittay H

Mar 02, 2019

Great Course - the best for Presentation

By Vanessa S

Mar 29, 2019

A really intense course that has been well thought out and very comprehensive. You must ensure you are a good project manager and stick to the deadlines otherwise you incur additional charges if you reset the deadline. Lots of variety with quizzes/questionnaires and presentations. Plus you learn from your peers. Overall I'd highly recommend.

By BISHWAJIT P G

Feb 03, 2019

good one

By Angela E

Apr 02, 2019

Excellent course, the videos were interesting and entertaining to watch! I learnt some valuable skills which I will put into practice.

By Binay K g

Apr 05, 2019

Awesome Course . Gain so many insights about preparing and presenting.

By Marcelo S V

Mar 12, 2019

Very good!

By Emmanuel C L

Mar 06, 2019

Este é um excelente curso. Ele dá diversas dicas, tanto estéticas quanto práticas, para construir uma boa apresentação de forma eficiente e gerando um resultado minimalista.

By Priscila C d O

Dec 22, 2018

Amazing! Great tips.

By Peter G

Dec 22, 2018

Very good and well-structured course! The lecturer explains the subjects in short words and illustrates his message with examples which makes it diverting. A new topic for me was “Peer-graded assignments” It was interesting for me to see how others are performing and how peers see my work. My time was not wasted when I look back at my older presentations and how I would do it now after the course.

Peter Glatte

By LAURENT N

Jan 08, 2019

Great and effective

By Dao T Q

Jan 20, 2019

No doubt this is ( and other ones on this specialization) the best course I've ever learned.

By Heiko D

Jan 20, 2019

Thank you very much. I enjoyed the course a lot. Very practical down to earth approach without feathers and whistles.

By tabac500

Sep 09, 2018

I think this is very good course for beginners like me.

By Rafael F

Sep 12, 2018

Excellent professor, materials and instructions!

By 吳乙瑩

Aug 27, 2018

As a non-designer, I do learn a lot from this course and that definitely will help me in the future! Many many thanks to the teacher for giving such a great course!

By Jennifer D R

Aug 28, 2018

I appreciate all of the help and tips in this. Very thorough!

By

Oct 15, 2018

It' easy to learn. Clearly yo understand. It's smooth present. Thank you very much.

By Theresa C

Oct 20, 2018

This is a great course for professionals who need to communicate complex information into PowerPoints and other presentations. Alexei provided a lot of helpful examples that were directly relevant to my job.

By Elisa P

Nov 11, 2018

Outstanding course! Very complete information, backed up with data and useful practical tasks. I already dominated graphic design concepts but everything taught was extremely useful. Highly recommended!