Chevron Left
Back to Social Computing

Social Computing, University of California San Diego

4.4
698 ratings
97 reviews

About this Course

People are social creatures and the modern Internet reflects that. Technology has made collaboration at a distance possible in new ways that present their own set of challenges. This course will introduce you to the major challenges and opportunities for creating online communities. What does the future hold? Learn how social computing can create collaboration experiences that go beyond what’s possible face to face....

Top reviews

By ML

Mar 10, 2016

Really interesting course. Good introduction to the dynamics of group behavior and collaboration. Nice overview of advantages of crowdsourcing, but no mention of any ethical or economic concerns.

By MI

Apr 08, 2017

Great course, very practical and a great pack of skills which will help me interpret problems better, especially ones involving multiple people (which is basically all problems.)

Filter by:

90 Reviews

By Alwin Tantowi

May 11, 2019

(My reviews assumes you follow the whole specialization process by UC San Diego) The third part of the HCI specialization offers a good explanations about digital social interaction and coordination, ranging from simple social interaction to something relatively obscure as crowdsourcing. I have to put 4 stars instead of 5 because on the first assignment the task is really vague and we didn't have any examples or guides about what exactly the assignment wanted from us. But aside from that, all of the assignments involved the students clearly.

By Priyank Agarwal

Apr 24, 2019

I couldn't understand the purpose of creating content in a separate course. I do not mean to hurt or demean anyone but I think the concepts could have explained in Course 2 of the specialization. So far, I had a great experience with Course 1, 2 and 5. Course 3 seems a bit off track

By Giny Chin

Mar 31, 2019

Interesting course :)

By Raluca Mitarca

Mar 28, 2019

Felt a bit light and not necessary, but it was good info still. Took pleasure in it and actually enjoyed the easy homework.

By Shahar Erez

Mar 05, 2019

Started off strong, but is missing the key aspects of social networks and how to integrate their prevalence into our designs.

By Will Herron

Feb 26, 2019

yeet

By Jared Gillespie

Jan 22, 2019

My least favorite of the group so far as it spends a bit too much time on crowd sourcing and was missing the latest industry powerhouse topics like Slack.

By Kory Taylor

Jan 16, 2019

Some of what was asked in the homework did not match with what was asked in the submission section.

By Santiago Borray

Jan 14, 2019

Handy information

By Kevin Mehta

Dec 27, 2018

I don't think introduction needed to be stretched so long but it was good :)