Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.9
210 ratings
71 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

MA

Dec 11, 2018

The course is amazing! Professor Plous has created very engaging content. I highly recommend the course for anyone ! I think this material should be taught in schools as a required course.

MV

Feb 18, 2019

Such an amazing course, the professor was brilliant and made lots of effort to help the learners have a fun, interactive time while learning. Would very highly recommend this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 82 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Ian R

May 31, 2019

This was the best MOOC I have every done...and I have undertaken quite a number over the past few years. I find that, in many cases with MOOCS, the treatment of the subject is rather superficial. Not so here. The videos were really interesting, there was a substantial amount of reading directly related to each one and both covered the topics in some depth. I feel that I was really challenged in getting to grips with some of the concepts and I enjoyed this. The final exam, I found to be really testing and therefore passing on the first attempt provided a real sense of achievement. Overall the learning was very practical and I will be able to use this effectively in my daily interactions. Scott’s total commitment to his discipline came across loud and clear and this was an extra motivating factor for me. Only one suggestion for improvement. It would have been ideal to have had a short check-up quiz at the end of each week. This would have confirmed understanding of the topic for that week and would have provided some preparation for the final exam.

By Tanmay S P

May 19, 2019

I feel like taking time to rate this course the deserving 5 Star score. The professor is such a credible person and heads the biggest network of Psychology- SPN. The material provided is worth more than 70,000 Indian rupees. Thank you for making this available for no cost.

By Shivangi S

May 10, 2019

Professor Plous has made this course interesting with a number of additional videos, Ted talks and snapshot quiz. It is one of the best courses that I have taken on Coursera.

By Pablo G A

Jun 22, 2019

Many thanks for creating this course. I learned many useful concepts about social psychology and these ideas help me a lot in daily life. I appreciate very much this course materials. Thanks from Madrid.

By Donna N

Jun 19, 2019

This was an extensive, well rounded and enjoyable course. Thank you for the considerable amount of work necessary to compile it all. The only disappointment was the reference material after each video, further reading and videos, had the majority of its listings as unclickable links (any with a title versus an actual web address).

By Marcos P

Jun 14, 2019

One of my all-time favorites. This course is incredibly insightful and offers many practical lessons. Prof. Scott Plous is super warm, knowledgeable, and engaging; it was a privilege having him as an instructor. I wish this course was taught at all schools; we'd have a so much better society if it was. 11/10 would recommend.

By Mustafa S

Jun 14, 2019

Easy, Joyful, inspirational and interesting

By Jennifer L

Jun 13, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and want to take more psychology classes online! I loved studying former experiments, and the self-discovery along the way. And I hope I will continue along a path toward being more compassionate due to the Day of Compassion assignment. A great class for anyone!

By Steven B

Jun 13, 2019

Very good course and the instructer makes it fun and engaging

By Iryna K

Jun 10, 2019

amazing course! learned so much

By 呂信德

Jun 05, 2019

JGFDFFFFDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDFR FNNNNNNNNNNNNREFAC GYUFEDDDDDDDDDDDDDDC CDE2EYVUFWTVYID C3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3EB GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGWHJKDN E4NODHFG4YUICVCRY4GFWEIO YRIIIIIIIIIII34OGFUDB YYYYYYYYY3GFIOG45O 46Y3HO0DGI3WU8FVX YU43IHD4U3XHJ9 4GRYFFFFFFFFFFFFFJKLZHYT FRV cy5cvh653w3qazsvgftr5vsAQq45GTRBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVWDIOWEWSW45GFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTR44

By Mantas Z

Jun 05, 2019

Thanks a lot. I had a great time and got interesting information. It will be very useful in my near future.

By Aditya K

May 31, 2019

A must do for the ones who want to get a good overview of the subject!

By michael w w

May 30, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It’s but the tip of the iceberg, and I’m certain I will revisit things frequently. The lectures and course materials provided by Prof. Plous were excellent, and the background support (Sue L. ) was outstanding. Highly recommended !

By Pragati s

May 30, 2019

exceptionally well crafted!!

By Rustam S

May 29, 2019

Best course ever

By Nataliya A

May 23, 2019

awesome! very interesting and interactive course

By

May 22, 2019

this course is amazing

By Beirong L

May 19, 2019

Very good course, and I recommend it to everyone who is interested in psychology.

By Gregor V

May 18, 2019

Looks amazing! Came here after completing Introduction to Psychology with Professor Paul Bloom.

By Rodrigo S S

May 17, 2019

Thank you Professor!

By Igor

May 15, 2019

Good and engaging but i didnt like homework

By Izuumia F

May 09, 2019

i feel blessed to take up this course , i will i have the funding to pay for certificate, can my certificate be kept pending when i pay to collect, that would be great.

By Stefan P

May 04, 2019

This course contains high quality material and had literally changed my perception for good!

By zhang y

May 04, 2019

Fun and useful