Chevron Left
Back to Software Security

Software Security , University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
733 ratings
173 reviews

About this Course

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Top reviews

By PR

Nov 20, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

By DT

May 09, 2016

The course of this kind was extremely needed, still in it's current state it contains lots of inaccuracies in lectures and quizes. I hope they will be fixed up to the future sessions.

Filter by:

168 Reviews

By Muhammad Fawwaz bin Senin

Dec 05, 2018

Lecturer is awesome!

By Emilio Alberto Oropeza Zurita

Nov 13, 2018

Excelente Curso

By ishan ojha

Nov 12, 2018

got to learn a lot

By Deepak Chethan

Nov 05, 2018

This is hands down one of the toughest courses on coursera. Learning curve was steep and provided quite a lot of information. I recommend it to everyone who ever writes code or tests it. It was time well spent !

By Julián Jiménez González

Oct 26, 2018

Except for the static analysis and symbolic execution unit, which I actually found pretty hard (there are a lot of terms and definitions), most of the course is pretty easy to get in for anyone with some CS background, but offering solid knowledge and very good examples. 100% recommended as a Software Security introductory course.

By Saksham Aggarwal

Oct 14, 2018

This was a good course, I learned a lot from it. Instructor and guest interviews.

By Grace Shaw

Oct 06, 2018

Part of this course was tough for me, but I learned a lot

By Veronika Zvereva

Sep 24, 2018

Awesome course, very helpful, enjoyed it very much. Gives hands-on experience, thank you very much!

By hmka

Sep 16, 2018

The course is impressively well-structured and organised. When I came to know about MIT's OCW's Computer Security course, I was eagerly hoping it gets included in as a Mooc. After taking this course, I believe it's on the same par.

Software Security is intended for a more advanced audience compared to usable security. Mainly, those who have some modest experience with programming and are aiming to apply security designs and implementations to their code. Moreover, it gives you a good idea, backed up with labs, about security in domains like web application, low-level systems, penetration testing, etc, good enough for someone to choose which one to pursue a career in.

By Amit Biswas

Sep 16, 2018

Excellent. Was able to review the course and catch up my peers in a security course.