Chevron Left
Back to Spanish Vocabulary: Cultural Experience

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Spanish Vocabulary: Cultural Experience by University of California, Davis

4.7
113 ratings
26 reviews

About the Course

¡Bienvenidos! This second course in the specialization will build on the basic vocabulary you learned in the first course, and you will begin to build the skills necessary to express your likes and dislikes orally and in writing. You’ll also begin to explore the some of the common cultural experiences of the Spanish-speaking world through a visit to the marketplace. A series of interactive activities and videos will provide opportunities for practice and continued exploration of the cultural context of the Spanish-speaking world....

Top reviews

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 26 Reviews for Spanish Vocabulary: Cultural Experience

By Bryan C

Mar 13, 2018

Generally speaking I think the course content is good, but I rated this course average because of three main reasons.

1). I think a little more effort to organize the material would go a long way. For example, the grammar presentations refer to new vocabulary words that were not introduced in the vocabulary list, and the vocabulary exams refer to content in the grammar section. It would be nice if the curriculum were designed so that you could study the vocabulary, take the vocabulary exam, then review the grammar and leverage what you learned in the vocabulary section to re-enforce your learning.

2). I also think that some of the topics deserve additional clarifications, and the presentations themselves are very short. I appreciate the length of the presentations when reviewing the presentations to refresh my memory, but difficult concepts sometimes require more attention than they are given. In some cases, it seems as though an elegant choice of words to describe a difficult concept is more important than taking the time to deconstruct that concept into simple phrases.

3). Lastly, there are errors in the presentations and exams, and little to no involvement from the professor to clarify points and/or correct those issues. I have noticed comments from students who have reported the same issues for the past two years, and those issues are still not corrected. I used to comment on the message boards for clarifications and to report errors, but after getting zero responses from the professor I stopped participating.

Conclusion:

Overall, I think it's a good course - it provides a good structure for learning the Spanish language despite the above shortcomings. Although they appear very simple to address, I see the same shortcomings exhibited by every course in the series.

By Gabriel M G

Jun 27, 2019

We have an amazing professor from UC Davis here. He explains every topic in a very precise, clear and concise manner.

By Kamila C

Feb 07, 2018

Um curso muito interessante. Mas é necessário um conhecimento básico de inglês e da própria língua espanhola, para poder acompanhar melhor este curso.

By Al A

Jul 28, 2019

Thank you for the opportunity you gave me to study Spanish online! To succeed in this Basic Spanish course, you'll need a lot of: determination, patience, resourcefulness... and a lot of repetition. The lessons were terse, but this pushed me to go out of the course content. If you are a patient self-directed Spanish language learner who wants to be challenged, then this course is for you. Surely, you'll enjoy doing the required assignments. Also, always be a dedicated peer reviewer so you can make the best out of this course; when reviewing your peers' work, try your best to identify errors, learn new words, etc.

By Danilo M P

Feb 24, 2019

Este curso es excelente! tuve la oportunidad de seguir aprendiendo español. Estoy estudiando en Argentina y necesito tener la certificación B2. Creo que este curso es fundamental para realizarlo.

By Ashutosh S

May 05, 2018

Great course, awesome professor!

By Kriebel D S

Aug 07, 2018

This course seemed to me a little bit harder. Not for complete beginners.

By Livia S

Mar 31, 2018

Very good Spanish course! I was already able to make use of it during my holidays!

By João P N R

Jul 15, 2019

The course is fairly well designed and you can learn a lot, but the evaluation method of being rated by peers is far from perfect and can lead to very faulty evaluations.

By David T S

Aug 20, 2018

Many of the assignment directions are unclear or unhelpful at best, and incorrect answers do not result in helpful feedback.

By Mikheil B

Dec 10, 2018

excellent course!

By Chirag S

Dec 13, 2018

Great and relevant!

By Mouhannad R

Mar 12, 2019

Amazing course

By

Feb 05, 2019

Estas leciones son muy interesantes y buonas. Gracias!

By Lutokhin M

Jan 07, 2018

I really like this course and want to continue learning Spanish with Dr. Robert Blake and Coursera

By Jayrome N

Apr 02, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course!

By Ivan H

Jul 12, 2017

great course, very helpful and easy to use

By ROCKSON O

Jun 25, 2017

great course. very useful for everyone who wants to get the basics in spanish

By Rajmalla J

Nov 26, 2017

I would very strongly recommend this course. It is a very well thought and planned module, it is fun and informative with some serious assignments that can be challenging but well worth it.

By Kathrin B

Dec 29, 2017

very good didactics, nice videos from mexico, I really enjoy learning :)

By Ana R P

Feb 23, 2018

Thank you so much to my instructor for instructing Ana Pelayo.

Ana Pelayo.

By Nyasha A K G

Dec 10, 2017

An awesome way to learn a language.

By Bhumik L

Sep 21, 2018

Great course

By Eddie H

Sep 24, 2018

Great learning experience!!

By trushali l

Sep 16, 2018

Great course.It helped me a lot