Chevron Left
Back to Spanish Vocabulary: Cultural Experience

Spanish Vocabulary: Cultural Experience, University of California, Davis

4.7
85 ratings
18 reviews

About this Course

¡Bienvenidos! This second course in the specialization will build on the basic vocabulary you learned in the first course, and you will begin to build the skills necessary to express your likes and dislikes orally and in writing. You’ll also begin to explore the some of the common cultural experiences of the Spanish-speaking world through a visit to the marketplace. A series of interactive activities and videos will provide opportunities for practice and continued exploration of the cultural context of the Spanish-speaking world....

Top reviews

By RJ

Nov 26, 2017

I would very strongly recommend this course. It is a very well thought and planned module, it is fun and informative with some serious assignments that can be challenging but well worth it.

By AP

Feb 23, 2018

Thank you so much to my instructor for instructing Ana Pelayo.\n\nAna Pelayo.

Filter by:

19 Reviews

By Chirag Singla

Dec 13, 2018

Great and relevant!

By Mikheil Beriashvili

Dec 10, 2018

excellent course!

By Eddie Hurt

Sep 24, 2018

Great learning experience!!

By Bhumik Lalka

Sep 21, 2018

Great course

By trushali lalka

Sep 16, 2018

Great course.It helped me a lot

By David Thomas Savage

Aug 20, 2018

Many of the assignment directions are unclear or unhelpful at best, and incorrect answers do not result in helpful feedback.

By Kriebel Daria Stasio

Aug 07, 2018

This course seemed to me a little bit harder. Not for complete beginners.

By Ashutosh Shukla

May 05, 2018

Great course, awesome professor!

By Livia Schmidt

Mar 31, 2018

Very good Spanish course! I was already able to make use of it during my holidays!

By Bryan Chin

Mar 13, 2018

Generally speaking I think the course content is good, but I rated this course average because of three main reasons.

1). I think a little more effort to organize the material would go a long way. For example, the grammar presentations refer to new vocabulary words that were not introduced in the vocabulary list, and the vocabulary exams refer to content in the grammar section. It would be nice if the curriculum were designed so that you could study the vocabulary, take the vocabulary exam, then review the grammar and leverage what you learned in the vocabulary section to re-enforce your learning.

2). I also think that some of the topics deserve additional clarifications, and the presentations themselves are very short. I appreciate the length of the presentations when reviewing the presentations to refresh my memory, but difficult concepts sometimes require more attention than they are given. In some cases, it seems as though an elegant choice of words to describe a difficult concept is more important than taking the time to deconstruct that concept into simple phrases.

3). Lastly, there are errors in the presentations and exams, and little to no involvement from the professor to clarify points and/or correct those issues. I have noticed comments from students who have reported the same issues for the past two years, and those issues are still not corrected. I used to comment on the message boards for clarifications and to report errors, but after getting zero responses from the professor I stopped participating.

Conclusion:

Overall, I think it's a good course - it provides a good structure for learning the Spanish language despite the above shortcomings. Although they appear very simple to address, I see the same shortcomings exhibited by every course in the series.