Chevron Left
Back to Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People by University of California, Davis

4.6
477 ratings
124 reviews

About the Course

¡Hola! ¿Como Estas? In this entry level course, you will take the first step toward exploring the foundations of Spanish grammar and pronunciation, and will begin to build a working vocabulary of common Spanish words and expressions. You will be able to talk about yourself, your family and friends in the present tense, and begin to explore the cultural context of the Spanish-speaking world through a series of videos and interactive activities, including speaking, reading and writing exercises. The adventure begins here, so ¡vámanos!...

Top reviews

MP

Nov 10, 2018

Although it took me a while to warm to the idea of doing peer review exercises, and having to video record and upload work, actually I think this is an important part of the course and really useful.

SD

Mar 08, 2018

This course is perfect for people looking to learn a new language. A lot depends on your enthusiasm to learn but the clarity offered in this course regarding the basics of Spanish is unparalleled.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 124 Reviews for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

By Yashasvi A

Jun 04, 2018

The course is good. But I think the peer grading assignment is unfair. Some peers downgrade you just because they have an opportunity to review someone and for their own guilty pleasure of letting others down. I respected the criterion of the assessment however one of the peers gave absolute dishonest review and unnecessarily deducted marks.

By Tamila G

Jul 22, 2018

I'd give 4.5 but it's not available, so went with 5 :)

The course is really useful, but in forums, even though the administrators encourage to communicate with one another, learners are not that eager to communicate. And the major part of language learning is communication! If you don't use what you've learned and don't listen to others, the learning process stretches and you tend to forget some words here and there. Perhaps making 5% of the whole course requirement to be on forums and communicate with others, not just keep posting your paragraphs that you were required as an assignment.

Thanks to the professor and the administration!

By Michelle S

Jul 06, 2017

This course is sadly very frustrating and I have had Spanish and French previously. I don't know how anyone with no Spanish experience would be able to finish the first week's worth of lessons without a lot of outside help and reference. I would expect that a course such as this would have all the reference you'd need to help you translate the material for the practice sessions. It seems like the reference and the practice were created at different times without any continuity. I have dropped this course and will continue with my other audio course.

By Fern H R

Jun 29, 2017

Description states no previous Spanish lessons required to complete this course which is false. Attempting this course and it was painfully clear that basic Spanish is required to even understand the beginning lessons. This being said it probably is a great class for intermediate students - not beginners

By Linda M

Jun 10, 2019

This was a pretty good introduction to beginning Spanish. As with any new language, the audio portions were quite difficult. All in all, I felt like I got a good start.

By Kumar R

Jun 05, 2019

Its a very good course for Spanish beginners

By Khamila E

May 27, 2019

Supposedly, this is a free course. I applied to have financial aids, it was accepted. I finished the course and then ! I had to pay to get the certificate. This was not even mentioned in any of the e-mails I have received.

By ISLAM A A H

May 22, 2019

I really liked the course, it was rich of vocabularies and grammars which helped me a lot ... going to enroll the next course from this specialisation.

By Erin J M

May 08, 2019

Very good for the opportunity to learn speaking exercises because you have to combine sentences together in order to make the language easier to understand. The grammar here is also amazing. I am at the beginner-intermediate level and before this course and I still learned a lot from this class.

The only downside is that they had a confusing quiz model that I never could figure out.

By Rachit B

Apr 19, 2019

El curso es muy bueno.

By Priyank A

Apr 15, 2019

Got lost. The very first module had me lost. Thought this course was meant for beginners but wasn't offered any introductions

By Sevgi K

Apr 06, 2019

It is unexpectively succesfull.

By Ahmad G

Apr 04, 2019

It is a wonderful course I learned a lot and I want to keep on going.

By Laura L S G F

Mar 21, 2019

Curso muito bom. Porém, pena que não possui legenda em português.

By Susie S

Mar 17, 2019

I am finding the material a bit confusing... I do not' know why they have to make learning so difficult.

By Houda Z

Mar 16, 2019

its a good one

By Mathew P

Mar 12, 2019

As a beginner i felt there maybe should have been a more basic vocabulary introduction, but overall a good course.

By Graham O

Mar 12, 2019

Good beginners course

By

Mar 12, 2019

A little more in-depth explanation and discussion of vocabulary would have been nice,

Really enjoyed the matching exercises and the quizzes. The first quiz is too hard for what has been taught up to that point. If I was truly a beginning learner, I would not have been able to do the first quiz.

It would be nice to have the perspectivos words printed out like the rest of the lessons, so we could read it in addition to hearing it.

By Katarina G

Mar 08, 2019

i just started, so that's why 4 stars, but i am really happy with what i am finding here. Highly recommended.

By Bonnie S

Feb 26, 2019

I am really enjoying this class. It's really help with specking the language. Great insight in details to make you a better speaker. Love it!

By Hiba d

Feb 22, 2019

I really enjoyed taking this course.

By Julia G

Feb 17, 2019

That's not the first time I have started learning Spanish and I have really enjoyed the course!

Very interesting lessons, they don't take much time + good practice. I am on my way to get the specialisation.

By Apoorv K

Feb 16, 2019

Thorough with the method of teaching. However, could use practice exercises where the student translates full sentences from English to Spanish and visa versa.

By Alexander R

Feb 07, 2019

Love the way course is organized!