Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.6
253 ratings
68 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 02, 2019

It was a good experience to learn online. This course increase my knowledge an i gain new concept which are very helpful for me and guide me in this field more. thank you

JG

Jun 23, 2019

Overall Course was good, I had gained enough knowledge regarding the basic of spectroscopy. This course is worth for the chemistry and chemical background students.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 66 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By Xiaoyue Z

Aug 28, 2018

a helpful course

By PRITISH B

Nov 04, 2018

i am really thankful to coursera and university of manchester for this course

By Shrushti

Nov 09, 2018

Helped me in analyzing and interpreting the IR,UV-VIS and NMR spectrums. Great course for a Biotechnologist in the making!

By ANKANA P

Nov 19, 2018

IT HAS HELPED ME A LOT..THANK YOU

By Sujeesh S

Oct 07, 2018

Very useful course

By DIPIN D A K

May 11, 2019

nice course

By DrMalay J B

May 04, 2019

Excellent course for basic knowledge of spectroscopy. The syllabus is very precisely designed for providing a deep understanding of various spectral techniques.

By Subuhan A A A

May 19, 2019

Very helpful in creating a clear-cut view regarding the marvelous world of molecular spectroscopy. Significant packets of knowledge about UV/Visible spectroscopy, IR spectroscopy NMR spectroscopy can be earned through this course. Highly recommended for a UG/PG Chemistry student.

By Ketan P

Jun 05, 2019

A very good intro course with excellent quiz material and lecture notes.

By Marcos L C

Jun 10, 2019

I like too much this course because it is more difficult than another online courses.

By Jay G

Jun 23, 2019

Overall Course was good, I had gained enough knowledge regarding the basic of spectroscopy. This course is worth for the chemistry and chemical background students.

By SADAF A

Jul 02, 2019

It was a good experience to learn online. This course increase my knowledge an i gain new concept which are very helpful for me and guide me in this field more. thank you

By Richard A T G

Jul 12, 2019

Un curso muy bien diseñado, que explica los fundamentos basicos de la espectroscopia de una manera practica y objetiva.

By Wessam S

Jul 31, 2019

Great course! The way this course is introduced is very pleasing, the course notes are very useful and the assessment quizzes are decent.

I recommend this course to anyone who is interested to learn more about Spectroscopy which will give you the proper foundation you need to understand.

By Nguyen T T K

Aug 03, 2019

This course is very informative

By Lydia v D

Feb 25, 2019

Quite the challenge!

By Carlos E

Mar 07, 2019

Muy bueno como introducción

By Aravind k

Apr 08, 2019

very helpful,learnt new concepts

By lamlom t l t

Jul 25, 2018

it is really course very nice and more useful in chemistry

By Ali A

Jul 30, 2017

Very useful and overall rating is very good. However, there is some error in the grading system related to some questions, hope to be checked.

By Colin E

Jan 05, 2018

Some of the answers were wrong in the week 3 quiz and I'm pretty sure I got more answers correct than were actually awarded marks in the final quiz. The content of the lectures was very informative and well put-together. The lab sections are inspired by genius. Thank you Prof. O'Malley and Coursera for the provision of a very good course - all things considered.

By peter h b

Nov 07, 2017

I enjoyed doing this short course. The presentations were good & at the right level for me. I particularly like doing the lab quizzes. They were just right.

However,there is a problem with some of the answer in the quizzes. I must admit, I cheated on one of them by taking the advice offered in a discussion thread & opting for answer A several times so I did well but feel a little chaste. Clearly some of the answers given are not correct & they are pointed out in the discussions. I enjoyed doing the final quiz but again I'm quite puzzled by some of the answers given. I shall look out for more courses offered by Manchester Univ. This has been my second course and I've enjoyed both. Thank you for filling my day.

By Sohyla M A

Jan 19, 2018

I guess it would have been the best course if more details to some topics was added.

By Ali A N I

May 26, 2018

I suggest to add Raman spectroscopy also to this module.

By Fernando V P

May 26, 2018

Me gustó el curso, lo disfruté y aprendí. Sólo me hubiera gustado ver más al profesor, como en una clase presencial, y no sólo ver las diapositivas explicadas por él. El material del curso es bueno, y los cuestionarios realmente te ponen a pensar.