Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.6
254 ratings
68 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 02, 2019

It was a good experience to learn online. This course increase my knowledge an i gain new concept which are very helpful for me and guide me in this field more. thank you

JG

Jun 23, 2019

Overall Course was good, I had gained enough knowledge regarding the basic of spectroscopy. This course is worth for the chemistry and chemical background students.

Filter by:

51 - 66 of 66 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By prapulla b

Oct 10, 2017

This course helped me understand the spectroscopic concepts in a simpler and a more easier way,I found interesting will solving the practice problems and the quiz.This course is really helpful in analyzing the structure of the organic compounds using spectroscopic techniques like IR, UV and NMR spectroscopy.

I would like to thank Mr.Patric sir for making the concepts easier and simpler.

By uppala v v s

Jun 14, 2017

There is a lot of theory for spectroscopy which i was expecting, for example in UV/VIS spectroscopy there are rules to measure the maximum wavelength value of the compound based on conjugation and pi bonds. Also some of the tutorial questions were abstract which were hard to get the solution without additional information. But a good source to recap vital concepts

By Yimo L

Jan 06, 2018

Good practice on the basics

By CHAN W F P

Mar 15, 2018

C

By Sohyla M A

Jan 19, 2018

I guess it would have been the best course if more details to some topics was added.

By Fernando V P

May 26, 2018

Me gustó el curso, lo disfruté y aprendí. Sólo me hubiera gustado ver más al profesor, como en una clase presencial, y no sólo ver las diapositivas explicadas por él. El material del curso es bueno, y los cuestionarios realmente te ponen a pensar.

By Colin E

Jan 05, 2018

Some of the answers were wrong in the week 3 quiz and I'm pretty sure I got more answers correct than were actually awarded marks in the final quiz. The content of the lectures was very informative and well put-together. The lab sections are inspired by genius. Thank you Prof. O'Malley and Coursera for the provision of a very good course - all things considered.

By Ali A N I

May 26, 2018

I suggest to add Raman spectroscopy also to this module.

By Saugata G

Aug 05, 2018

Very interesting

By lamlom t l t

Jul 25, 2018

it is really course very nice and more useful in chemistry

By Frank B

Aug 11, 2017

Sometimes confusing!

By Nimrod B

Apr 25, 2018

Nice overview of the field but poorly written exams, focusing on technical minutia.

Even worse, some problems are not solvable based on the knowledge given in the course.

By Dion S

Jul 29, 2018

I was kind of disappointed. Before this course I had done about half a year of spectroscopy as part of labs undergraduate chemistry at community college, and we hadn't really done any UV other than mentioning its existence. I took this course hoping to refresh and improve my spectroscopy skills and learn UV before I transfer to University. Sadly, I found the course to be extremely cursory at best. Perhaps I was just looking for too much. Maybe Manchester will offer a sequel? If so I would enrol and check it out.

I also found the course to be rather understaffed in that when I tried asking some questions on the forums it took weeks for even another student to reply, much less an instructor. In addition there seem to have been several wrong answers on the quizzes, as well as typos such as 106 instead of 10^6. Although the staff has addressed a number of this issues I am still waiting on a correction or comment on the final quiz. Since I paid for this course, I would like my grade to reflect what I have externally verified is a correct answer.

By Yurshanva K

Jun 29, 2019

The content is good but the lectures audio was quite disturbing

By Dominick M

Oct 09, 2017

A decent qualitative and quantitative intro to UV/Vis, IR, and NMR spectroscopy. The lecture videos are little more than the instructor reading the slides, and coughing. The slides are a good intro to the material, but you can probably find better videos on youtube. Though this class give you experience in solving some quantitative problems, the quizzes and final have many mistakes in the answers which have not been fixed despite many posts in the discussion forum.

By Wei Y

Feb 21, 2018

Youtube level videos. The quiz is poorly designed.