Chevron Left
Back to Business Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Strategy by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
588 ratings
110 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how organizations create, capture, and maintain value, and how it is fundamental for sustainable competitive advantage. You will be able to better understand value creation and capture, and learn the tools to analyze both competition and cooperation from a variety of perspectives, including the industry level (e.g., five forces analysis), and the firm level (e.g., business models and strategic positioning). • Understand how managers coordinate different functional areas, resources, and systems inside a company and align them with the external environment to enhance overall performance • Knowledge of strategic management tools and frameworks, and apply them to real business contexts Process diverse business and industry information to diagnose strategic issues, evaluate strategic alternatives, and formulate a coherent and actionable strategic plan • How to think like a CEO, entrepreneur, or general manager. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

HL

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

TW

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the case studies in this course and the education on various frameworks felt like I could immediately use the material in real world scenarios. Highly recommended course materials.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 109 Reviews for Business Strategy

By Emmanouil K

Apr 24, 2017

Excellent class! Highly recommended to anyone who wants to learn the basics of business strategy. Professor Somay is a subject matter expert and his lectures are wonderful. Many thanks!

By Leslie P

Jun 18, 2019

The lectures were great, but the assignments didn't offer much in the way of learning. I think the rubrics need to be revised.

By Judy D

Jun 18, 2019

Very informative. At first I wasn't looking forward to writing a paper every week, but it definitely helped to reinforce and fully understand the lessons. Professor Somay provided very clear explanations and I enjoyed his use of soccer to explain concepts. It's a great class to learn about business strategy.

By Irtiza A

Jun 16, 2019

Perfect courser for new bee's in business strategy

By Hector R

Jun 14, 2019

Absolute Genius!

By Tarek E

Jun 13, 2019

Amazing experience, I already studied Business Administration and Strategy as my formal high education but never was able to look at businesses and industries as a business or strategy analyst. The frameworks and tools in the module are very helpful in assessing and intervene in business and how they operate!

By Gaurav V

Jun 13, 2019

Good course but new cases will be good for aligning with current environment

By Mayukh G

Jun 12, 2019

Loved this class ... Prof Somaya the best online instructor I have experienced so far !

By Edmundo X G M

Jun 12, 2019

Awesome Lectures

By Nikhil V V

Jun 12, 2019

Prof. Somaya makes the class very interesting!!

By Sandeep K

Jun 11, 2019

Great course!

By Jason T

Jun 11, 2019

Very Good Course. Really useful systems PESTEL, VAR, even SWOT!

By Helen F

Jun 09, 2019

Excellent course material!

By Fredjoger B M

May 20, 2019

Great course!

By Kyle B

May 12, 2019

I've loved this course. The lectures are concise but interesting, and I like that the professor seems to have written his own book (available as a PDF) to supplement it. Unlike in some of the other courses, the professor seems to have put a bit of thought and creativity into the way that he presents the material, and it somehow feels more personal than the other courses.

I also like the open-ended and longer-form writing assignments. It really helps see whether the other students we're grading actually UNDERSTAND the material, and from time to time I learn something from the way others have constructed their responses.

By Elena L

May 07, 2019

Great course and especially professor Somaya is a brilliant teacher, always coming up with interesting cases, metaphors and constant willing to share as much as possible with students. Deepest appreciation and gratitude to the whole course Team!

By Sergio A M M

May 07, 2019

Excellent course. I really enjoyed.

By Greg T

May 02, 2019

Really awesome course that I found I was able to connect to my

By Oscar c

Apr 23, 2019

Too fast.

By rohit c a

Apr 20, 2019

great learning experience

By CAROLINA P P

Apr 08, 2019

Was great to understand the environment and new strategies that are good

By DEYAELDIN K E N

Mar 14, 2019

very good

By Mustafa R

Mar 10, 2019

great course

thanks

By Deng M

Feb 26, 2019

Excellent course

By Hani M B

Feb 09, 2019

I am very happy with this achievement