Chevron Left
Back to Business Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Strategy by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
632 ratings
120 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how organizations create, capture, and maintain value, and how it is fundamental for sustainable competitive advantage. You will be able to better understand value creation and capture, and learn the tools to analyze both competition and cooperation from a variety of perspectives, including the industry level (e.g., five forces analysis), and the firm level (e.g., business models and strategic positioning). • Understand how managers coordinate different functional areas, resources, and systems inside a company and align them with the external environment to enhance overall performance • Knowledge of strategic management tools and frameworks, and apply them to real business contexts Process diverse business and industry information to diagnose strategic issues, evaluate strategic alternatives, and formulate a coherent and actionable strategic plan • How to think like a CEO, entrepreneur, or general manager. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

HL

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

TW

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the case studies in this course and the education on various frameworks felt like I could immediately use the material in real world scenarios. Highly recommended course materials.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 118 Reviews for Business Strategy

By Emmanouil K

Apr 24, 2017

Excellent class! Highly recommended to anyone who wants to learn the basics of business strategy. Professor Somay is a subject matter expert and his lectures are wonderful. Many thanks!

By Dan G

Dec 03, 2018

Excellent materials and study cases.

By Muhammad S S

Feb 07, 2019

It was the best course in the whole Specialization course relating to Strategic Leadership & Management. Other courses were more theoretical-based but this specific course was provided with more detailed-orientated real life examples.

By Nadia G

Jan 29, 2019

This course was so interesting and insightful. I really loved doing the case study work.

By Hani M B

Feb 09, 2019

I am very happy with this achievement

By Martin K

Jan 30, 2019

Excellent course - brilliant comparison to soccer game. Full of interesting facts and perspectives.

By CAROLINA P P

Apr 08, 2019

Was great to understand the environment and new strategies that are good

By DEYAELDIN K E N

Mar 14, 2019

very good

By Jay H

Dec 06, 2018

This is by far the best class of the specialty so far. The case studies and analysis questions are so thoughtful and thought-provoking. Thanks so much for spending the time to develop a class that is so immediately applicable to my work and career.

By Mustafa R

Mar 10, 2019

great course

thanks

By Deng M

Feb 26, 2019

Excellent course

By Jeremy M B

Jul 11, 2018

Great professor with valuable insights! Highly recommend!

By Jerry D

Jul 10, 2018

Great course! Professor Somaya is an excellent instructor. You will not be disappointed.

By Isabella W

Sep 09, 2018

Loved it!

By Corey M

Sep 11, 2018

Great course I learned a lot

By Iga K

Sep 24, 2018

Very interesting material, many good examples (including the soccer field), interesting cases

By Almas A S

Sep 14, 2018

A course that is a must for any one who has plans of setting up his business. Be it small medium or large. Great learning experience!

By Hamza L

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

By Jai P

Aug 12, 2018

The course was very well produced. The Executive Interviews were insightful. The case studies were though provoking and very interesting. Thank you Professor Deepak Somaya!

By Osman K

Aug 13, 2018

Great lecturer, almost perfect programme. Highly recommended!

By Zizhuo X

Aug 31, 2018

I like the case study part of this course. Very interesting and I do learn a lot from the studies.

By EM

Oct 09, 2018

Enjoyed this course and the presentation of it. The writing assignments did get a bit cumbersome at times, but did fortify retention of the information presented for me.

By Neha J

Oct 30, 2018

Porf. Deepak is simply outstanding. I would be taking more of his courses as his style and method of explaining the concepts is superb

By Raul N C G

Nov 02, 2018

Excellent course! Well-thought of and prepared. Very appealing selection of case study and the soccer examples are solid choices with a rather broad appeal.

By Kunal C

Nov 21, 2018

The way of delivering the lectures is so much unique which helps to better understand. Excellent