Chevron Left
Back to Strategy and Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategy and Sustainability by IESE Business School

4.5
124 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

Business and environmental sustainability are not natural bedfellows. Business is about making money. Sustainability is about protecting the planet. Business is measured in months and quarters. Sustainability often requires significant short term costs to secure a sometimes uncertain long-term benefit. To some activists, all executives are exploitative, selfish one percenters. To some executives, all activists are irresponsible, unyielding extremists. And yet engaging with the issue isn’t optional – all businesses must have a strategy to deal with sustainability and, like any strategy, this involves making choices. This Strategy and Sustainability course based on Rosenberg's recently published book by Palgrave (http://www.palgrave.com/la/book/9781137501738) that encourages learners to filter out the noise and make those choices in a hard-nosed and clear-eyed way. Prof. Rosenberg’s nuanced and fact-based point of view recognizes the complexity of the issues at hand and the strategic choices businesses must make. He blends the work of some of the leading academic thinkers in the field with practical examples from a variety of business sectors and geographies and offers a framework with which senior management might engage with the topic, not (just) to save the planet but to fulfill their short, medium and long-term responsibilities to shareholders and other stakeholders. This course promises to be both engaging and thought-provoking, aimed at anyone who wishes to gain a deeper understanding of a subject that is no longer perceived as a choice but a necessity for future managers and business leaders alike....

Top reviews

SP

Feb 02, 2018

Really well put together course material. Mike Rosenberg is a great expert to listen to and his course is very easy to follow, and very comprehensive. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

VA

Oct 10, 2017

This course has showed the basic framework of strategy and sustainability very well. The peer assignment also very interesting. Overall, I really enjoyed the course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 38 Reviews for Strategy and Sustainability

By Anne V B

Mar 10, 2019

The content of the course is fine, but the way this last assignment works (Peer-grade) IS TERRIBLE!... I have been really frustrated I started this course submitted two different assignments and never passed, I re-enrolled recently, so meaning I have paid twice for this course, submitted a new essay and yet have not been able to pass. There is no way to contact with the teachers of the course and honestly I don't think it should be left on the hands of other people than the ones to provide the course to qualify the last assignment which is the one that defines if you pass the whole program or not.

Coursera also has not available email to reply for inquiries like this one, if you want an answer from them they just put you through an endless cycle of reading small articles regarding possible ways to improve your exposure of this type of assignments. Without ever giving you a proper answer or a direct channel to talk to them. Which makes me think this is quiet shady and they must receive lots of complains so their strategy is to hide.

By Sadi K R

May 29, 2019

Awesome course

By Scott P

Apr 25, 2019

This course was terrific and i highly recommend it.

By griselda c n

Apr 22, 2019

muy buen curso donde se establecen las bases de la estrategia para hacer de la sustantabilidad un bien rentable

By Dean B

Apr 09, 2019

Excellent instructor, great pace, clear quizzes. Good content flow, and use of visuals to solidify main points.

By NEELU K

Mar 22, 2019

THE COURSE HAS SHOWED THE BASIC FRAMEWORK OF STRATEGY AND SUSTAINABILITY VERY WELL.THE PEER ASSIGNMENT ALSO VERY INTERESTING .OVERALL,I REALLY ENJOYED THE COURSE .

By Shivendra s B

Feb 01, 2019

good learning aspect to learn and know the strategy & sustainability of different business across different areas

By Ravi V

Feb 01, 2019

Prof.Mike Rosenberg was so simple and effective in his style of teaching. He makes it personal and prods the students to think of their own real life situations, which I believe is the secret to learning. I have seen many Professors focus on study material but Prof.Rosenberg's focus was learning material. Thank you Sir.

By Julia A

Jan 04, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, especially because it made me see that its hard -but not impossible- to combine a business strategy with the environment, but it is possible to take steps little by little. The examples and the material were great.

By Joseph A

Oct 31, 2018

i enjoyed till the end and the peer-to-peer assessment topped off the amazing brain exercise

By Nikki m

Aug 28, 2018

It's a good beginner's course to get an introduction to sustainability.. It's a gives a brief overview of the sustainability market, it's verticals, and challenges.

By Yuki H

Aug 16, 2018

I have just successfully completed Prof. Rosenberg's Strategy and Sustainability course. I would highly recommend it to all people working in CSR departments, but also to anyone who is about to start his or her own CSR consultancy (which is what I am currently doing). Prof. Rosenberg is a great teacher because he enlivens the sometimes dry and hard-to-explain subject of sustainability with vivid, real-life examples to which we all can relate. Something that is also worthwhile mentioning is his unique sense of humor!

This course is both informative and enjoyable and I have learned a lot of valuable things that I can put into practice. Thank you Coursera, and above all: thank you Prof. Rosenberg!

By Lalit J

Aug 05, 2018

Very well explained the need and process to integrate sustainability framework in you business strategy

By Zrinka P

May 22, 2018

it was great course which

By Mihalis I

Feb 26, 2018

The final - week 6 - exercise didn't provide very clear instructions. Especially around the framework to be used.

By Felipe B

Feb 21, 2018

Very deep content which brings many thoughts about the role and concerns related to the environment that business man shall be on their mind when they are running a business. Many good insights watching and studying this amazing and must to do course. I appreciate all the effort made by Prof. Rosenberg and IESE.

By Sian P

Feb 02, 2018

Really well put together course material. Mike Rosenberg is a great expert to listen to and his course is very easy to follow, and very comprehensive. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

By Rambaldo E d C

Jan 20, 2018

I dropped out of this course after the first reading when it became clear that it was not about sustainability but about dealing with environmentalism. That is, how to deal with environmental issues perceived as externalities by the existing strategic paradigm.

Sustainability is a different paradigm, a different mental model, and a different worldview leading to a different strategic logic. On the basis of this course being labelled as strategic, I was hoping it would to address the corporate level strategic challenge of how business can transition from one mental model to another mental model.

The course should be renamed so as not to confuse prospective students wanting to understand corporate level business strategy and sustainability.

By Daria N

Nov 22, 2017

Great presenter with a great philosophy & approach

Great structure of the course: simple yet relevant

Have already recommended to a number of junior people at my company's Sustainability practice as an intro course for some extra credentials

By Nguyen T H

Nov 20, 2017

This is the best online course that I've had so far. I liked the well structured way of thinking and information that Prof. Mike gives. I also appreciated the various perspectives that Prof. showed when he presented the information. There are lots of real examples, which makes the content lively and not 'theoretical' as some other courses I attended. A highly recommended course!

By Massimiliano G

Nov 07, 2017

A great course for a gentle introduction to the topic of Strategy and Sustainability. The assignment workload is fair. Overall good food for thoughts.

By Venessa A

Oct 10, 2017

This course has showed the basic framework of strategy and sustainability very well. The peer assignment also very interesting. Overall, I really enjoyed the course.

By Shawn B

Oct 09, 2017

Professor Rosenberg did an excellent job delivering the content and objective of the Strategy and Sustainab

By Ian C I

Sep 18, 2017

Very interesting. It would be nice if the subject develops one step further into Tatics.

By Luciana d S M S

Sep 13, 2017

Excelente!