Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Sustainability by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
564 ratings
184 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Top reviews

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 181 Reviews for Introduction to Sustainability

By Rawya Z A

Jan 14, 2019

One of the courses that benefited me and expanded my perceptions and knowledge

By Talles G G

Jan 15, 2019

Excelente curso!

By Raphaël H E S

Jan 15, 2019

Un poco repetitivo en el formato pero muy completo, te ayuda a tener una visión más clara sobre la sustentabilidad

By Hadis S G

Feb 17, 2019

Great course

By Leslie T V

Feb 22, 2019

incredible way to teach, complete material and exactly instructive lessons. great interaction student and teacher. perfect way to share knowledge with the rest of the world. I live in Brazil, and having access to this type of content is very cool.

By kelley d

Mar 23, 2019

a great introduction with a variety of learning formats.

By Ahmeerah A

Mar 24, 2019

I learned so much. Thank you!!

By Anne-Laure M

Mar 25, 2019

Awsome, interesting, well structured. I strongly recommend.

By Lavdrim X

Mar 19, 2019

Lots of information, and very well organised super course.

By Jose U R

Mar 05, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE

By Myriam V S A

Jan 07, 2019

Excelente desde todo punto de vista. Muy didáctico, entretenido. Me ayudó a comprender muchos conceptos que ahora uso frecuentemente en mi cargo.

By Muhammad Z S

Jan 20, 2019

I highly recommend this course to ones who are working on sustainable energy this course is much worthy to clear your concepts about sustainability and sustainable future.

By Yoshida M

Jul 15, 2018

It gave me a good overview of sustainability, key terms and the future.

By Tan J F

Oct 05, 2018

Really tough course, but it was worthwhile!

By Aravind R

Oct 28, 2018

Great Course. Gives a deep insight on sustainability.

By JUNAID A

Nov 01, 2018

Excellent

By ivan j c s

Nov 07, 2018

great job

By Mim P P

Nov 11, 2018

very very amazing courses . Really loved it.

By Catharine

Nov 20, 2018

Nice explaination about current and future earth condition

By Asik S

Sep 30, 2018

Insightful and enjoyable.

By Eleonora G E

Sep 18, 2018

Excellent course. The material is a little bit old but still relevant.

By Himaghna B

Mar 26, 2017

Wonderful course. Opened me to sustainability ideas as well as current issues facing our world in a lucid and informative way. Highly recommended!

By Olivier C P

Feb 10, 2016

Great course given by U of Illinois about sustainability. Very complex concepts well explained by Dr Tomkin. Highly recomendable for all people involved in economic, energy, environment, food and nutrition ...

By Jack G

Dec 31, 2015

Excellent introduction to the basic concepts of sustainability

By Dr A A

Jan 02, 2017

Highly recommended for who wants to know multidisciplinary linkages of sustainability.