Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Teaching for Learning: Planning for Teaching and Learning

Foundations of Teaching for Learning: Planning for Teaching and Learning, Commonwealth Education Trust

4.8
84 ratings
26 reviews

About this Course

The Foundations of Teaching for Learning programme is for anyone who is teaching, or who would like to teach, in any subject and any context - be it at school, at home or in the workplace. With dynamic lessons taught by established and respected professionals from across the Commonwealth, this eight course programme will see you develop and strengthen your skills in teaching, professionalism, assessment, and more. As you carry on through the programme, you will find yourself strengthening not only your skills, but your connection with colleagues across the globe. A professional development opportunity not to be missed. This course will help you consider how to develop appropriate learning goals for individual and groups of students. You will learn how to plan learning activities to engage your students in ways that will achieve these goals. Enhance your course by joining the Commonwealth teaching community on our website, Facebook and Twitter....

Top reviews

By IK

Dec 16, 2017

Really a fantastic course with a great purpose, organization, and motivation. The hosts were great and made the course practical as well as theoretical. Thank you!

By M

Jul 01, 2017

I really enjoyed to discover Carol Dweck's work about mindset. It has helped me in my perspective about myself and consequently I can help my students too.

Filter by:

25 Reviews

By Jianhua Hu

Sep 08, 2018

This course has been the most difficult one for me in Coursera. This maybe partly due to my background which lacks of related knowledge.

John mentioned Lao Tsz's idea at the end of interview, which is a surprise to me. The original text is like this ""...,功成事遂,百姓皆谓我自然。 ". Translation might be "..., Once accomplished, people always say this is natural for themself.)

This is a great Connection & Extend for me! LaoTze also mentioned something about curiosity. I have never thought about the connection between LaoTze and Teaching & Learning. This is a great gift from John.

Thanks John! Thanks Judy and Linda. I love the concepts and mindsets you demonstrated all through the course.

By Nicole Marie-Thérèse Charest

Apr 19, 2018

The best ever MOOC for the depth and breath of its reflective - metacognitive approach to planning. Congratulation to the teaching team. Suggestion : As it is about learning for young people and the teachers, any further development of the course could expand to include adult learning.

By Orsolya Hernold

Mar 02, 2018

The best of the series!

By Regina Naidu

Feb 05, 2018

I enjoyed this course, and have learnt a lot. I'll implement all my learning in my classroom:)

By Minal Dave

Jan 27, 2018

This course has helped me plan my curriculum as per the learner's need. My take away from this course will be "Always be ready to learn and change"

By Sukrity Goyal

Jan 23, 2018

Helpful and interesting!

By Ian Robert Kelly

Dec 16, 2017

Really a fantastic course with a great purpose, organization, and motivation. The hosts were great and made the course practical as well as theoretical. Thank you!

By Alina Zakureeva

Dec 05, 2017

Very nice, inspiring teachers; a great course!

By Anindita Chaudhury

Oct 15, 2017

Wonderful piece of knowledge

By Nitika Agarwal

Oct 03, 2017

I WANT FINANCIAL AID TO GET THE CERTIFICATE.IF POSSIBLE PLEASE DO THE NEEDFUL AS I HAD SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THE COURSE.

NITIKA AGARWAL