Chevron Left
Back to Technology Commercialization, Part 1: Setting up your Idea Filtering System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Technology Commercialization, Part 1: Setting up your Idea Filtering System by University of Rochester

4.1
29 ratings
11 reviews

About the Course

New ideas based on high-technology research have a high failure rate because they hit the ground running with lopsided priorities and misalignments. Students complete this course with an Innovation Creed (“Why are you doing this?”) and a customized Idea Filter (“Are you working on the right priorities?”)—2 simple tools that steer concept-stage commercialization to success....

Top reviews

MS

Jan 15, 2017

It is a great course to take for anyone who is active in field of technology commercialization.

AF

Oct 30, 2017

Proved to be very useful for me personally. Would be great to see part 2 now!

Filter by:

1 - 10 of 10 Reviews for Technology Commercialization, Part 1: Setting up your Idea Filtering System

By Alexey F

Oct 30, 2017

Proved to be very useful for me personally. Would be great to see part 2 now!

By Balazs F

Aug 08, 2017

Excellent, easy to put it into practice, thank you!

By Tjerja G

Oct 15, 2017

It's a great course - i very much enjoyed all the contents. The Theory and Exercises are all good - the course questions for the quizes/exams are sometimes too hard. It could be a little more ' considerate ' regarding company politics, culture or circumstances - and not too rigid. Overall, great learning experience.

By Brian M

Feb 11, 2016

Excellent course, especially if you're involved in mutiple projects at once. It helps you distill the reasons why you would run a startup or get involved in one. You learn to see through the details of the day and look at fundamental principles of many startup projects.

By Shenequa A

May 20, 2019

I worked in emerging technology over the past two years. This course is exactly what is needed for anyone working in a radical innovation space. It provides guidance on how to determine what to pursue. I hope there will be a part 2 that focuses more on what to do after you've chosen your ideas.

By Giovanna S

Dec 19, 2018

This course was really helpful for me - a business development professional on the begging of career. I've been working on business development for a whole year now and I can totally identified myself with the professor's saying: "The highs are really high the lows are really low and the time between the two is very short. So, try not to get too high. Try not to get too low try and run the middle as best you can and just keep focused on your business plan and press through." Kind regards from Brazil! Giovanna Siena

By Igor K

Jan 08, 2017

I guess, the this course need to be enpowered by practical case

By Raeesa G

Feb 01, 2019

This course could have been made more concise. Some of the information was very basic or frankly unnecessary. The exams did not test you on concepts but on how well you listened to the lectures and remembered them. It helped me learn a few business concepts and the template is a good place to start if you are a novice. Overall, I was pretty underwhelmed by the course.

By GYQB

Sep 17, 2017

This course could have been chiseled down to one 30-minute lecture. So much of it was annoying jargon (WTF is "Marble Mouth"?), overdrawn abstract rambling and obvious back-and-forth speak on hypothetical situations (e.g. "Doing too much of this thing would be too much, but at the same time, doing too little would be too little, so you want to do the right amount."). Thanks! I would have preferred a few core concepts with many real-world examples, real-world resources on where to find market or IP data, etc. This professor seems to be detached from the outside world and living in his own sphere of terminology and business-school fluff.

By Takayuki K

Aug 25, 2018

I think this course is too messy to understand for a newbie. The lecturer describes some jargons with examples but sometimes I could not understand what they are. I do not recommend this course if you do not have confidence in this area.