Chevron Left
Back to Text Mining and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Text Mining and Analytics by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
366 ratings
96 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the major techniques for mining and analyzing text data to discover interesting patterns, extract useful knowledge, and support decision making, with an emphasis on statistical approaches that can be generally applied to arbitrary text data in any natural language with no or minimum human effort. Detailed analysis of text data requires understanding of natural language text, which is known to be a difficult task for computers. However, a number of statistical approaches have been shown to work well for the "shallow" but robust analysis of text data for pattern finding and knowledge discovery. You will learn the basic concepts, principles, and major algorithms in text mining and their potential applications....

Top reviews

JH

Feb 10, 2017

Excellent course, the pipeline they propose to help you understand text mining is quite helpful. It has an important introduction to the most key concepts and techniques for text mining and analytics.

DC

Mar 25, 2018

The content of Text Mining and Analytics is very comprehensive and deep. More practise about how formula works would be better. Quiz could be not tough to be completed after attending every lectures.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 97 Reviews for Text Mining and Analytics

By Paul N

Jun 08, 2018

I got the sense that this course needs to be updated. Some of the quizzes covered work that had not been treated up to that point and the programming assignment did not work with the most recent version of the MeTA toolkit. For a course of this stature I would have expected a lot more attention to such detail. It would also appear as though the owners of the course material are not present on the forums with students left to their own devices.This course as well as the Text Retrieval one does not compare well with the Machine Learning course from Stanford offered on Coursera when considering the above issues.Some work is required I believe

By David C B

Feb 10, 2017

Annoyingly, the specific pre-requisites can't be determined until AFTER enrolling. This course is in C++, so if you're not a C++ programmer, it's probably not a good idea to purchase this.

By Scott C

Jul 06, 2018

Presentation has a lot of room for improvement to present the information where other people can comprehend the topic.

By geoffrey a

Sep 06, 2017

This is a great course for data science. I hope to use many of the techniques that were explained. There is plenty of cutting edge material here. It is essential for modern data science practice in my opinion. It's fairly advanced level. Students of this course will do just fine though, if they already have the ability to pass university level undergraduate computer science courses.

It would be a better course if the MOOC students received more attention from the teaching staff. The participation rate in the forums by students as well as staff was pretty low. As such it requires a strong and independent student to pass this course. It would also be a better course if there were more coding homeworks using something like jupyter notebooks. Also I would make the course a few more weeks long to handle the extra homework which I am suggesting.

This is probably the best MOOC course on this material in existence, to my knowledge. Highly recommend this course for anyone who intends to be a data science practitioner.

By Shreya P

Jul 04, 2017

I didnt feel like continuing, I had problem at job for which i enrolled in course,to do efficient text mining..Its all theoretical..Too much information at one short and no examples relating to it

By Samir A G

Feb 25, 2017

Very good course thank you

I wish we could have use case applications with high level tools such as R

Thanks a lot again !

By Essam D

Aug 26, 2016

The course focuses more on the theoretical side with no practical examples. It also does not explain these theoretical concepts in detail enough. It was difficult for me as a new learner in the text analytics field to follow such dense theoretical concepts.

By Lee X A

Jul 18, 2016

You need to pay to participate in the quizzes. Stay clear, there are free alternatives out there

By Shubham K

Jun 10, 2019

Couldnt understand a word of what the instructor said

By shaoming.xu

Jun 04, 2019

Excellent courses. Prof Zhai provide a lot of insight in this course!

By Ruben D S P

May 27, 2019

great clases about text mining, this is really important becuase many people required this type of data analysis all of the time

By Mrinal G

May 20, 2019

Nice

By Ankur B

May 08, 2019

Little outdated but still clears the basics. More theoretical and less programming based

By To P H

May 07, 2019

Very dense content

By YASH L

Apr 11, 2019

The course was very challenging and i learn a lot of new things from the course, this will help to complete my project.

By Yaoyao D

Feb 12, 2019

It is rare to find an online course that explains the statistics and intuition behind text mining and machine learning algorithm!

By Yugandhar D

Jan 02, 2019

Excellent course the provides comprehensive knowledge on Text Mining and Ananlytics in all its dimensions.

By Rahila T

Nov 15, 2018

Good

By Gourav A

Oct 26, 2018

Excellent course.

By Luis F Y B

Sep 29, 2018

Great..Clear. Thanks

By Ian W

Aug 10, 2018

In-depth description on the algorithms.

Personally I suggest finish the quiz of the nth week after finishing all the video of (n+1)th week.

By Uday A K

Jul 30, 2018

i have completed the course but didnt receive certificate and there is no option for id verification

By Ryan L

Jul 27, 2018

Lots of great topics are covered. Would like to see more hands on exercises.

By David O

Jul 01, 2018

Great course

By David C

Mar 25, 2018

The content of Text Mining and Analytics is very comprehensive and deep. More practise about how formula works would be better. Quiz could be not tough to be completed after attending every lectures.