Chevron Left
Back to What does it mean to identify as Transgender or Gender Non-Conforming (TGNC)?

What does it mean to identify as Transgender or Gender Non-Conforming (TGNC)?, University of Minnesota

4.5
35 ratings
16 reviews

About this Course

In the last decade transgender and gender nonconforming (TGNC) individuals have become increasingly visible in our families, culture, and public discourse. This course explores the concept of gender identity for people who are curious about the nature of gender, the process of gender affirmation, or changing social dynamics. Participants will learn the unique challenges faced by the TGNC population as well as develop the skills to build inclusive spaces in all spheres of their life. This course was developed under the Joycelyn Elders Chair in Sexual Health Education at the University of Minnesota....

Top reviews

By RC

Sep 04, 2017

This course was amazingly informative. I have learned many new thoughts and ideologies. This new understanding will help me to help my students feel a sense of belonging, inclusion and understanding.

By AA

Feb 12, 2018

An amazing course rich with narratives and lots of readings/ videos/ resources. This has been a great learning experience for me. Thank you to everyone who was a part of teaching this course :)

Filter by:

16 Reviews

By LAURA ELENA HERRERA ESPINO

Jan 27, 2019

I want to express my gratitude to those who intervened in all the ways in this wonderful course; with the elaboration and edition of material, the compilation of information, the pdf documents, the blogs, the informative pages about the subject, the brave testimonies of the transgender people, the opinions of professionals of the health and the companions that participated in the course with their valuable opinions. I thank you all for instructing me about how to help transgender people, in a country like mine, where even ignorance and prejudice hurt a lot. From my trench as a university professor, I want to make a commitment to support transgender people and their families with the aim of restarting a healthy and emotional communication, which stimulates their self-esteem and allows them to fully develop in their social environment to improve their quality of life . Having finished the course, can I get the scholarship? In order to implement changes in my workplace, I will be asked for a certificate. Thank you so much.

By Kevin Symanietz

Jan 22, 2019

This course is propaganda. No science. Very disappointing!

By Rachel Mackenzie

Jan 02, 2019

This course was a fantastic overview of Transgender and Gender Non-Confirming issues, incorporating many different voices -- both academic perspectives and personal experiences. I think it would be enriching for anyone looking to deepen their understanding of TGNC issues, but also particularly recommend it for people largely unfamiliar with the issues looking to create more inclusive spaces or be more supportive towards a friend or loved one identifying as TGNC. Thank you, University of Minnesota, for creating such a great course.

By Maya Wedin

Dec 18, 2018

really interesting, a lot of first-hand experiences, which was awesome!

By Sylvia Bass

Oct 16, 2018

The course had some good material, but it does not look like it has been reviewed in a while as some of the content they link to is no longer available.

By Melissa Carlysle

Feb 14, 2018

Great course with real hands-on experiences and videos.

By Aakriti

Feb 12, 2018

An amazing course rich with narratives and lots of readings/ videos/ resources. This has been a great learning experience for me. Thank you to everyone who was a part of teaching this course :)

By Thomas W Surber

Jan 10, 2018

Very good! Excellent resources.

By Sofia Klimov

Nov 15, 2017

The videos feel a bit cut-off a lot of the times, but if you ignore this then it's super informative and educating and well structured.

By jayshree sharma

Oct 11, 2017

i

a

m

g

l

a

d

t

h

a

t

c

o

r

s

e

r

a

c

h

o

o

s

e

t

o

i

n

t

r

o

d

u

c

e

t

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

a

t

a

t

i

m

e

w

h

e

n society has started to accept transgender and lgbtqai people in general