Chevron Left
Back to The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
131 ratings
40 reviews

About the Course

The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry is an adaptation of an on-campus course that has been co-taught by Murray Baumgarten, Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature (Literature Department), and Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus (History Department), for over 20 years at UC Santa Cruz. In this course, you will explore the Holocaust from the overlapping perspectives of literature and history—through memoirs, historical documents, poetry, documentary footage, filmic representations, and novels. You will expand your knowledge of the literature of the Holocaust, Eastern and Western European Jewish communities, the origins and development of antisemitism, the establishment of labor and extermination camps, resistance movements, and the Holocaust as a problem for world history. There is more than one way to take this course: You can complete all of the activities (and earn a Verified Certificate) or only the activities that are most interesting to you. Whatever you choose to do, we encourage you to find a havruta (a study partner) in your community or in the Coursera community so that you can experience the course in a more interactive and meaningful way....

Top reviews

RK

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

BB

Nov 06, 2015

The presentations raise vital questions , dis-aggregates historical experience and has generated interest in me to study the issues further . Many thanks to the Professors.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 40 Reviews for The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

By Jesús M G F

Oct 12, 2015

Great course. I have learn a lot. Thank you a lot to Professors Kenez and Baumgarten and all the staff from Coursera

By Derik B

Nov 26, 2015

This is a very great course that the global community must have access too and study the

political and historic reasons that led to the horrors of the Holocaust.

Please keep this course available for study permanently on Coursera.

Thank you.

By JOHN Q

Sep 09, 2015

Great course divided by two gentlemen professors who lived through the era with personal experience. I loved the division of literature sources and historical events which knitted together harmoniously, and I liked also the lectures tremendously. Thanks. Dr John Quincy, BS, MBA, MLA, DDS, (+104 Coursera Courses and counting).

By William C

Feb 13, 2016

This course is extraordinary. The 2 professors who present the material are both experts in their respective areas: Holocaust history and Comparative Literature. They present the material not only from a profound academic understanding, they are both children of the Holocaust. And so they convey the material in a deeply personal and human way as well. Using the Holocaust as a momentous backdrop, the professors challenge the students to examine important philosophical questions throughout the course. The books and movies discussed are absolutely wonderful. Finally, the relationship between Murray and Peter, that of deep trust and respect, contrast so powerfully with the inhumanity of the topic they present. This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken in my life, including my time during college.

By Behnam

Aug 19, 2015

very usefull

By Esther C S

Sep 29, 2015

i have took before courses about the holocaut but this was remarkably different and so very interesting!

professors are both incredible and i loved how they expose the subject

By Gemma W

Oct 28, 2015

I found this course extremely informative. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a detailed history on the Holocaust.

By Kim N

Jun 20, 2016

Dark and disturbing though the course material is, this course is an absolute must for all who are interested in the Shoah and the depths of mans' inhumanity.

By Maria I R E

May 27, 2016

second time I take this course!!!!!!

By Ronnie P

Dec 06, 2015

An absolute must for every social human being.

By nuria

Mar 13, 2016

wonderful¡¡¡

By Carolyn J M

Jun 15, 2016

I learned a lot in this class.

By Elisa K R

Mar 21, 2016

I love the classes!

By Julia B

Mar 05, 2017

Took this course for job purposes. It is great for everyone, although I believe that people with some background in comparative literature will benefit from it the most,

By Sarah M

Nov 26, 2015

This was very interesting, I had to keep listening, it made it so personal. (I had relatives who perished in Minsk) Excellent course and fascinating tutors.

By Jorge E M A

Feb 28, 2016

One of the greatest experiences of my life in knowledge, is a course of self-improvement, faith, clinching my admiration for the Jews. If the intention of the perpetrators of the Holocaust is to deny the Shoah with terrifying acts that can not be talked, this course detracts the intention very high.

By Lisa L R

Jul 20, 2017

Absolutely adored this class and the instructors!! So much valuable information and first-hand experience, delightfully delivered in these special lectures.

By Celia M

Aug 11, 2016

Fascinating insights!

By S. J W

Oct 28, 2015

The historical lectures were marvelous; the literature lectures only a little less so. But the most enjoyable was both extremely knowledgable professors.

If you want to truly understand the myriad background, the Nazi psychology and insanity, the witness of those who suffered the most, and the in-depth story of the Holocaust, this is an outstanding academic experience.

By Laura D G

Oct 16, 2015

Thank you! Wonderful course, marvellous teachers. Everybody should study european history has much as we did during these lectures. I'll miss it.

By Marty C

Mar 10, 2016

Excelente

By Rochelle K

Sep 23, 2015

This was an excellent historical account of the Holocaust. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and personal accounts of this event.

By Richard K

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

By Colleen P

Jan 25, 2016

It was very interesting learning about the holocaust from two different perspectives. I also thought the selection of books, movies and other learning devices were very important in learning about the holocaust.

By Bikram B

Nov 06, 2015

The presentations raise vital questions , dis-aggregates historical experience and has generated interest in me to study the issues further . Many thanks to the Professors.