Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

The Science of Well-Being, Yale University

4.9
1,149 ratings
385 reviews

About this Course

“The Science of Well-Being” taught by Professor Laurie Santos overviews what psychological science says about happiness. The purpose of the course is to not only learn what psychological research says about what makes us happy but also to put those strategies into practice. The first part of the course reveals misconceptions we have about happiness and the annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do. The next part of the course focuses on activities that have been proven to increase happiness along with strategies to build better habits. The last part of the course gives learners time, tips, and social support to work on the final assignment which asks learners to apply one wellness activity aka "Rewirement" into their lives for four weeks....

Top reviews

By RW

Aug 10, 2018

So far so good. I enjoy the savoring and the gratitude i am continuing with. I am sharing my experiences and findings with my friends. They are happy to hear what i am explaining to them. Thanks, Bob

By GN

Jun 14, 2018

Exceptional course to understand the empirical science behind real well-being. Prof Santos' conversational teaching style is easy to follow - just great. I have recommended the course to others.

Filter by:

385 Reviews

By Tracy Hawes

Dec 10, 2018

Great

By Laura Doval

Dec 09, 2018

Amazing course. Truly a pleasure to have had the oportunity to learn and work with the assigments.

By Duane R Johnson

Dec 07, 2018

If you want to gain some new insights into the Science of Well-Being, then you should take this class because it is very insightful when it comes to exploring new ways at looking at your life, and it will also challenge you with rewirement challenge's to help broaden your outlook on life.

Thank You Professor Santos.............

By sori manu

Dec 06, 2018

The course was very intresting and presented in an attractive way.

By Seroja Manoj

Dec 04, 2018

I like the way the course is structured. The contents are simple, easy to comprehend and those that I can relate to,. I like the way the facilitator is taking us through the course.

By TADDEI VALENZA

Dec 03, 2018

Very dynamic and informative course. I was able to hold the deadlines and improve my English while improving my happyness score.

By Douglas Filipenko

Dec 03, 2018

Great course. I've recommended it to my friends and family.

By Noemi Galvez

Dec 03, 2018

Amazing!!

By MARISSA Keller Outten

Nov 26, 2018

Very insightful first half talking about research on well-being and positive psychology. I liked the academic context for this rich subject and learned so much such as how our minds are so bad at estimating what will make us happy. Money, a good grade, a good job, a big house...all those are illusions that don't really make us happy.

My favorite part was the second half which focused on what DOES make us happy - things like being kind, social connection, meditation, exercise, time with loved ones.

By Megan Lydon

Nov 25, 2018

Really interesting and useful information. Since this course is now hosted on coursera for a global audience though I would suggest the professor re-film the course with that audience in mind. We aren't all privileged college students. It would be greatly appreciated for examples to be framed with a diverse audience in mind.