Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

The Science of Well-Being, Yale University

4.9
1,446 ratings
483 reviews

About this Course

“The Science of Well-Being” taught by Professor Laurie Santos overviews what psychological science says about happiness. The purpose of the course is to not only learn what psychological research says about what makes us happy but also to put those strategies into practice. The first part of the course reveals misconceptions we have about happiness and the annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do. The next part of the course focuses on activities that have been proven to increase happiness along with strategies to build better habits. The last part of the course gives learners time, tips, and social support to work on the final assignment which asks learners to apply one wellness activity aka "Rewirement" into their lives for four weeks....

Top reviews

By MV

Jan 31, 2019

This is an outstanding course! I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

By RW

Aug 10, 2018

So far so good. I enjoy the savoring and the gratitude i am continuing with. I am sharing my experiences and findings with my friends. They are happy to hear what i am explaining to them. Thanks, Bob

Filter by:

483 Reviews

By Melissa Joseline Acuña Rendón

Feb 19, 2019

Great course, so much more than I ever expected.

By Ernesto Méndez Chiari

Feb 19, 2019

Super interesting insights from Professor Santos. The course is an interesting curation of different behavioral and psychological studies on different aspects of life. Great for rethinking goals, prioritizing and having self-accountability.

By

Feb 18, 2019

Ótimo curso.

By Chris Paulus

Feb 17, 2019

Love the course. Love the instructor. Changed my life to a large degree.

By john lee

Feb 17, 2019

Science showed that we can build habits to improve our well-being. It just takes practice and persistence.

By Marc Archer

Feb 14, 2019

I enjoyed the taught content and was particularly impressed by the integration of real life experiential stuff and habit change. The scope of wellbeing practices was pretty broad, though could have been broader.

By Bonnie Slight

Feb 14, 2019

I've just started this course and I am already feeling a huge difference in my behavior and emotions through out the day. I am happy I enrolled and if you haven't already. Please consider it. It is worth it.

By yan legret

Feb 14, 2019

Super-erudite professor, interesting course.

By Jean London

Feb 12, 2019

Dr. Santos, I am a retired psychotherapist who started my professional life at Yale. This course has been extraordinarily helpful because I have my health, a loving family, more money than I need (and yes I find great satisfaction giving it to others) and yet it is by its very nature a time of life that can be difficult. I am fortunate to be an active competitive tennis player, yoga devotee, dog walker, an art docent, etc. but it is difficult to be bombarded by the death of family members, friends, etc. I was prompted to take this course by the death of my sister, a federal judge, 10 years younger than me 2 months ago which prompted the question, “How can one continue to live life to the fullest when reality is painful?”

I wanted to pass on to you that this course has helped me recenter and to feel that there are things that I can do to enjoy living without perseverating about the negatives. It has even helped my tennis game! I have read Flourish, Thanks and Mindfulness for Beginners. And I have become an advocate of the course, sharing details with friends I hope will take it.

Thank you,

Jean

By khanh trinh

Feb 12, 2019

I love the course handy handbook!