Chevron Left
Back to The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art

The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.4
256 ratings
65 reviews

About this Course

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....
Filter by:

65 Reviews

By Joao Pedro Albino

Jun 25, 2018

Excellent!!

By TRUDY DORSEY

Jun 04, 2018

I am not originally from the South, but I have lived in Florida for the past seventeen years. I have always loved the stories, music, and art of the South, and now I know the history of them.

The course was extremely interesting and I highly recommend it to anyone who has an interest in these things.

By Tim Reidy

May 01, 2018

Fantastic!

By CYNTHIA WOODY

Apr 20, 2018

Very interesting and informative course, I have a better understanding of southern culture, the stories, music and art I often heard my grandmother speak of.

By Olga de Benoist

Feb 01, 2018

I really enjoyed the lectures. Thank you very much for such a great course!

By Dorothy H

Nov 24, 2017

Good course with lots of educator's personal experience and footage.

By Danielle Carr

Nov 01, 2017

I am so glad that I was able to participate in this class. It was so very enjoyable and informative.

By Lily

Oct 29, 2017

very helpful an introduction! Making me really wanna know more about the South. Love the Story-telling oral tradition of South!

By Barbara Kaffee Atkins

Aug 24, 2017

Loved it although i wish i could have taken the quizzes as an auditor just to check what i had learned.

By Mario Marset

Mar 24, 2017

I want to thank Dr. Ferris for allowing us to get an inside to the beautiful worlds in the American South. The work Dr. Ferris has done in his career documenting the South and mastering it, is truly amazing. This is by far the most enjoyable class I have ever taken!