Chevron Left
Back to The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.4
267 ratings
68 reviews

About the Course

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

Top reviews

ES

Aug 14, 2015

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 68 Reviews for The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art

By Samanta G P

Apr 11, 2019

Excepcional! Me encanto!

By John W

Dec 17, 2015

An excellent and thought provoking course.

By Charlotte S

Mar 29, 2016

Started this course, but had to stop initially because I started a PhD. But I couldn't stop thinking about it so resumed the other day. Loved it.

By Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

I learned so much about the South that I didn't already know.

By Edward C M

Oct 05, 2015

Amazing course! Conversational, relaxed lectures that are well-informed, paired with excellent archival footage--mostly generated by the presenting professor.

By Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

Very interesting and informative.

By Dario

Jun 23, 2016

Very interesting, great professor

By Renu G

Nov 02, 2015

Wonderful course for the slated length-- wish it was more in depth and longer!

Professor is unspeakably amazing and knowledgeable!

By Margaret F

Feb 04, 2016

This has been an interesting and informative course. It would be nice if Prof Ferris could produce an intermediate course on the same topic.

By Alice H S

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent! Full of treasure trove of information with History, stories and culture!

By David J H

Mar 16, 2016

Fascinating introduction and lots of pointers to follow through if you want to explore more

By Lester P

Aug 22, 2015

As a non-American and a musician I found this course presented immensely interesting and important background information as to how life was and developed in the American South, culminating in hearing the story of its music which I now understand in its context. I heartily recommend this course!

By Olga d B

Feb 01, 2018

I really enjoyed the lectures. Thank you very much for such a great course!

By qqwwqq22

Feb 29, 2016

Very brief but round introduction for the art forms of the American South. Greatly changed my idea and increased my knowledge about the native people in the South. Slow speed of lecture is very easy to understand for non-English spea

By Barbara K A

Aug 24, 2017

Loved it although i wish i could have taken the quizzes as an auditor just to check what i had learned.

By Bill G

Nov 28, 2015

An excellent course. Truly informative and engaging. I recommend this course to those interested in the Blues, its history and birthplace.

By Hugh M

Jan 09, 2016

The lecturers and interviews are relatively short and the quizzes don't ask that much of you, nevertheless this is a fantastic introduction to the south and explores a good breath of the arts and culture. The depth and passion of William Ferris's knowledge is obvious. He left me wanting more so I bought two of his multimedia books on Amazon, although he modestly didn't plug them I had to hunt them down.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/William-Ferris/e/B001H6IZGW/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1452359183&sr=8-2

By Jeremy E S

Sep 08, 2015

Excellent Course! From the start it was very informative. What I liked most about the course was the interviews of the everyday people from the South. The course went beyond the basic facts of Southern Culture and really brought out the influences from the common man. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in American Culture! Thank you for this course.

By Mario M

Mar 24, 2017

I want to thank Dr. Ferris for allowing us to get an inside to the beautiful worlds in the American South. The work Dr. Ferris has done in his career documenting the South and mastering it, is truly amazing. This is by far the most enjoyable class I have ever taken!

By CYNTHIA W

Apr 20, 2018

Very interesting and informative course, I have a better understanding of southern culture, the stories, music and art I often heard my grandmother speak of.

By Tracey N

Oct 06, 2015

Very informative and entertaining course. I moved to the south 10 years ago from way north and the culture is unique and warm. The people are great storytellers and talk slow, stay long. There is a strong music and writing community and I now understand much better the oral traditions and the roots ingrained in the generations of people that grew up here. The strong familial and community connections are deep and they have a sense of place stronger than I've seen in other parts of the world I've lived. I also see a good life balance, and a lot of joy. A truly rich heritage thrives here, and is not lost, even in these-paced, electronic-laden, modren times.

By Elizabeth P

Nov 10, 2015

Engaging and interesting, a review of Southern Culture with an excellent instructor.

By Althea M

Sep 07, 2015

As part of the southern family living abroad I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thanks Bill, for sharing your experience and knowledge with us. I look forward to watching your documentaries on Folkstream!

By TRUDY D

Jun 04, 2018

I am not originally from the South, but I have lived in Florida for the past seventeen years. I have always loved the stories, music, and art of the South, and now I know the history of them.

The course was extremely interesting and I highly recommend it to anyone who has an interest in these things.

By Chris C

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.