Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.7
779 ratings
157 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

TO

Apr 11, 2018

Great practical information to thermodynamical processes and machines with many calculated examples. A bit light on the fundamental definitions, like entropy, but very good for hands-on work.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 154 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By Mohammed W A

Mar 16, 2017

Its Very Helpful

By Ismail H B

Sep 30, 2017

It is quite a course that really gives the good understanding and brief problem solving capability about Thermodynamics. It also gives the mechanisms for energy generation, cycle process, states and so on. Moreover one can get a very important information and realities about world's energy bottlenecks and probable solutions. Dr. Wooldridge's undertaken to show these alternatives. But in this economic conjecture of energy generation, she becomes Don Quixot against windmills. Nonetheless, Dr. Wooldridge teaches the mechanism of these windmills. I hope her entropy lasts until the energy giants change their pathways to what she offers for the sake of inhabitable world.

By yashar k s

Oct 04, 2016

Good

By Mridul M P

Dec 23, 2016

The course is really helpful as a refresher for somebody who studied the subject 10 years back. I loved how the concepts were explained. Its a must recommend for any body who is going to study the subject in Undergrad to get good hold on concepts. Thanks for the course, It was something that I really needed at this moment in my assignment

By Bhushan U

Dec 07, 2016

This course is a very good introductory course to Thermodynamics. It has a lot of depth and breadth not just of the core Sciences but of the applications and other ramifications too. It is a good course to get a decent grasp of the subject for higher learning.

By Christos M

Oct 16, 2016

I very well structured and interesting course, with simple and easy understandable learning methods for the principles of Thermodynamics!

By George N

May 27, 2017

Excellent!

By Jude C W

Oct 30, 2016

More Helpful. Clearly describes the hard concepts. Thank you

By Thomas O

Apr 11, 2018

Great practical information to thermodynamical processes and machines with many calculated examples. A bit light on the fundamental definitions, like entropy, but very good for hands-on work.

By Mansoor A

Jul 18, 2017

Though I have not yet competed all the lectures, but I am impressed with the level of effort put in this course. Thank you

By Rishikesh G R

Jun 17, 2017

Great course. Amazing material. Covers the fundamentals and the applications as well. A pragmatic approach is taken too which is rather helpful.

By Alessandro C

Oct 26, 2017

Excellent course. It's well structured and parceled into short sessions with quizzes at the ends. The professor is engaging and explains new concepts clearly. Thank you Coursera, University of Michigan and Dr. Wooldridge for a great cour

By Freyja Y

Jun 05, 2017

Great course taught by a clearly competent professor. I like the segmented form, being able to complete tests for each week while the material is still fresh. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in an introduction into energy and power generation.

By Demetrius S B

Dec 17, 2017

Great course, had a great time and learned a lot. I'm a software engineer but my boss is a mechanical engineer. He was always boasting on his knowledge of thermodynamics. Now I'll be able to answer his "rhetorical" questions on energy conservation and entropy... Wow! Finally I've learned what this mysterious entropy word is all about or maybe I think that I did...

By Neri L v H

Apr 10, 2017

Great course! The prof. Margaret have a awesome didatic.

By Byungkeun S

Jan 18, 2017

I wanted to learn cycle part in Thermodynamics. The professor gave me a new insight in terms of renewable energy, consumption of energy, etc.

Thanks. I appreciate your class.

By Frank J N

Oct 23, 2016

Very good introdution to thermodynamics. Good teacher

By Vijay S

Oct 27, 2016

A very useful course for those who wants to learn about Thermodynamics. The Professor taught every topics in detail. I learnt a lot from this course.

By Ashish R

Apr 18, 2018

Good Introductory Thermodynamics Course, I am an electrical engineer and had to take this course as a prerequisite for a graduate level course in renewable energy. The professor is top-notch and explains the concepts very well, the assignments are not very challenging but force you to think about the concepts introduced in the video lecture. I am waiting for a follow up course which will deal with the second law, exergy etc. in detail.

By Geovane B

Mar 06, 2018

Amazing

By Shishir S P

Apr 18, 2017

I would really like to appreciate coursera and Prof. Margaret Wooldridge and lastly University of Mighigan for providing an opportunity to underwent through this which has cleared all the basis and conceptual theory of the subject

By GL T M

Apr 23, 2017

the best place to learning

By Sandesh A

Nov 01, 2016

I am an electrical engineer, working for mechatronics company. This course is very useful to improve understanding and inculcate relevant thought process when you have to deal with engines or other mechanical systems. Thanks a lot. It helped me. Looking for other courses like Fluid Mechanics, Fluid Dynamics, Heat Transfer etc.

By Suyash P

Mar 25, 2018

This was the best course I did on coursera. I really loved it.

By Sathiya M

Sep 27, 2016

this course was awesome :)