Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.7
777 ratings
157 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

TO

Apr 11, 2018

Great practical information to thermodynamical processes and machines with many calculated examples. A bit light on the fundamental definitions, like entropy, but very good for hands-on work.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 153 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By Juan G A B

Jul 09, 2019

Great course to wake up your school knowledge about Thermodynamic that you may need in your daily work !

By Vaibhav D A

Jul 22, 2019

One of the Best Teachers ever I studied under!! I sincerely wish that we can get more courses by the same teacher on Coursera. I would be more than happy to pursue those courses.

By Mayanknath J

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

By Emmitt D H

Jul 26, 2019

Extremely educational as well as flexible with its demands for time. I highly recommend this complicated course to be taken through this vessel.

By Tran L H

Dec 10, 2018

A pretty good "beginner" course for the people who are completely new for the subjects (apart from a few basic understanding from their high school classes of physics/chemistry). The pace and explanation are pretty fit for people to receive a better "absorption" rate for knowledge, so to speak. The examples in videos are quite good too, with enough working to guide people through the problems, not to mention the discussion videos where large-scale application of thermodynamics is used.

However, it is not "really enough" for someone who wants more in-depth training to revise for the thermodynamics at any university.

By Rodrigo L R

Jan 06, 2019

Nice, but should have explored more the 1st and 2nd laws, and a bit more of pictures and videos of real components.

By Yogesh Y

Mar 16, 2019

ryu

By Sudharsan P

Jul 09, 2018

very useful

By Aditya T

Dec 15, 2017

Starts from Basics and Inspires to dig up for more information.

By Sunil K P

Aug 10, 2017

good content, but still not complete

By Himanshu G

Sep 14, 2017

gud 1

By Andrew L

Jan 16, 2017

Excellent overview of the First and Second Laws of Thermodynamics. I gained insight into how power is generated across the world and became more fluent in working with concepts such as work, enthalpy, entropy, total internal energy, specific heat, and others.

By Steven G

Oct 02, 2016

This is a very interesting and rewarding course. It would help if the format was broken up a bit more. Perhaps with some video of power plants, turbines, etc. I enjoyed the "excursions" to see the jet engine and internal combustion engine. More like that would liven the material up a bit.

By Michael F

Dec 27, 2017

Great content easily followed and explained amazingly well.

THANKS!

By JOHN R

Jan 02, 2017

A useful course for anyone in chemical engineering. I enjoyed the material. Its well structured. Would be nice if Professor Wooldridge gave more example problems.

By sohaib

Nov 02, 2016

Course is great and very useful for thorough understanding of Thermodynamics. But Exergy and Second law efficiency was not discussed. It should also be included

By Clayton W

Feb 03, 2017

Excellent course teaching the fundamentals of thermodynamics.

By Jakob M

Feb 24, 2017

Great course and a very friendly professor :) However there were some mistakes here and there, which are annoying because you do not expect a professor to make such mistakes. Furthermore there could be more up to date, data. Especially data on energy use etc should not be from the year 2004 if we are in 2017. Overall though a biiiiiig thank you!

By Vikas K

Jul 03, 2018

That was a nice course to understand the basic concepts of thermodynamics.

By Oscar C

Mar 13, 2017

Very good for an introductory course, clear explanations and exercises. looking forward for more courses in medium level

By Adarsh K

Jul 30, 2017

GOOD COURSE

By Svetoslav D

Apr 14, 2019

Overall good and informative course, for those who never get in touch of thermodynamics. I found it little hard since my field is computer science, but in this course I manage to get basic idea of thermodynamics. I can say that I see the world little different now and have explanation of some of the events round us.

By kailash s

Jun 28, 2019

g

By Sarveshwar S R

Jul 19, 2019

Very good content

By Mahmoud A

Jul 26, 2019

very good introductory course but it's quite light, a denser curriculum would have made it an easy 5-star