Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds, University of Alberta

4.9
660 ratings
197 reviews

About this Course

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Top reviews

By MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

By JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

Filter by:

190 Reviews

By Matthew Martin

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent and informative course! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and the class notes will be cherished and re-read every now and again. I'm really happy that the course wasn't too easy and was more aimed at those of us with already a decent understanding of palaeontology and zoology as it really taught me a lot.

The only thing I would mark it down on is that the course notes did not always correspond correctly and were out of order to the videos. I like to make notes and highlight as I watch and it took a lot of page jumping to do that. At the same time I am uncertain if the notes were supposed to be done this way, or worked through after the course.

I look forward to other courses by this University as this one was absolutely fantastic! I would love to see a course that goes more into detail on modern bird evolution and adaptions, the last lesson felt very rushed. I would also love to see courses covering other prehistoric species, perhaps the evolution of cats, whales etc or other dinosaur clades.

The instructors were a joy to listen to and easily understood too. I felt very involved and now have a much better understanding of theropods and their descendants. As an amateur paleoartist this helps me a lot!

Thank you so much for this wonderful course!

By Rachel Kruft Welton

Apr 16, 2019

Superb. Such a lot of important detail at the right level to really explore the subject. Thoroughly recommended.

By Mitchell Goodknecht

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent course for Dinosaur experts yet still offers more to learn of the past and present!

By Douglas Alexander Kilpatrick

Apr 08, 2019

Exellent

By Sabarni Sarker

Mar 31, 2019

It is a great course for people interested in paleontology and ornithology. Personally, I am obsessed with birds and dinosaurs. I have learned a lot from this course regarding the evolution of birds. Such an wonderful course of history!

By Nevaeh Cobbley

Feb 25, 2019

A very interesting course!

By Katsutoshi Hayashi

Feb 25, 2019

Wonderful and interesting!

By Sharan Sajiv Menon

Feb 05, 2019

This course taught me about Birds and Dinosaurs well

By Jarrad Riehs

Feb 04, 2019

it was great i loved it

By Clotilde Dufournet

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !