Chevron Left
Back to Best Practices for iOS User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Best Practices for iOS User Interface Design by University of California, Irvine

4.6
181 ratings
44 reviews

About the Course

You will learn to develop sophisticated user interfaces for iOS, with a focus on user interface design best practices, UI animations, and responsive design. You will learn about the key UI widgets, mapping interfaces and view restoration....

Top reviews

MH

Jan 04, 2017

A must do course for people who use storyboard or the interface builder and need to make apps which are visually pleasing and responsive to screen sizes and orientations.

MR

May 29, 2018

Very descriptive, that's good for learning. Besides, peer assignment works are very effective. Anyone interested in iOS development must try this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 42 Reviews for Best Practices for iOS User Interface Design

By Mehmet İ K

Dec 07, 2018

Unfortunately I cannot say this is a good course as an iOS developer myself. I usually have problems generally with auto layout or other iOS specific controls which do not behave as I would expect them to. I am a self taught person, so I thought I might need a bit more systematic knowledge / training on the area.

When I saw "Best practices" in the title of the course, I expected the course to cover not only the absolute basics, but some more tricky subjects. Unfortunately the course covers only very basics and do not cover subjects deeply. I would also like to recommend the course instructor to do some preparing before doing the course. There are a lot of errors happening on the record time of the video, and it almost feels like there has been no preparation.

3 stars as it could help beginners to learn general UI concepts, but definitely need to look somewhere else for understanding Autolayout better

By Deleted A

Sep 16, 2017

The course is OK, thanks for the effort in preparing the course. However, it is outdated and does not necessarily follow the best practices for UI design as said

By Taro M

Feb 06, 2016

I think this course should be named basic iOS programming.

The course doesn't provide professional UI design, just teach some basic which Human Interface guideline has.

Also the instructor doesn't seem iOS expertise.

By Harvey G

Jan 29, 2019

Excellent course and instructors. A pleasure to learn from this course, thankyou!

By Md. T R

May 29, 2018

Very descriptive, that's good for learning. Besides, peer assignment works are very effective. Anyone interested in iOS development must try this course.

By Yulia S

Nov 06, 2017

I like this course very much! It contains a lot of practical material that allows to develop some simple but helpful apps at the course completion.

Thanks to teachers and to Coursera.

By Kipp M

Sep 17, 2017

Great things to learn about iOS app structure and code. I think the videos could be updated with current Xcode 8 or above language and structure. Sometimes I had to find the changes from the video. However, if anything was major, Professor Patterson posted comments on the class page that were very helpful to work around.

By Ananta A S

Aug 31, 2017

Nice set of utilities taught....

By Juan R S

Aug 21, 2017

its xcode 9 is soon to come out and you guys have not updated the adaptive frame options , i have to research it on my own.

By Daniel R J

Aug 13, 2017

Very Good content, clear and challenging. But the most important part is that the material is very applicable to real app development

By Steven M

Jul 06, 2017

This course teaches you the fundamentals of designing user interfaces for iOS, gestures, views, controls, and maps. Don Patterson is an excellent instructor and clearly presents the topics, giving insight into why Apple does some of the things that it does.

By Henrique T d A S

Apr 27, 2017

Great course!

By Alisson E R

Mar 29, 2017

This teacher is an amateur.

By Akshay

Mar 28, 2017

I love the content and the way it is explained and structured!

By Shanaka S

Jan 29, 2017

Overall a good course on Human Computer Interaction which focuses on Apple HIG (Human Interface Guidelines) and is delivered clearly. I would have like to seen a bit tougher quizzes and peer review assignments. But overall this is a worthwhile course to undertake.

By Deleted A

Jan 03, 2017

One of the most hard courses, but also the most fun one.

By Jean-Louis B

Nov 19, 2016

Although it's not hard core programming per se, it brings very valuable insights on design and iOS specifics.

By John F

Sep 27, 2016

The course had some great general UI content, and a nice final project tying persistent Core Data into a TableView providing useful experience and boilerplate code for future projects.

By Artem K

Sep 24, 2016

I thought there will be more on interfaces and views.

Not really "Best practices in interface design" course.

But it is good in Core Data and UITableViews. Worth time.

Change name! :-)

By Dallas B K

Sep 05, 2016

I'm learning a lot in this class. I actually decided it was worth paying for. Thanks for making it $49 instead of $79. I think the videos are really helpful for explaining confusing concepts. The assignments were simple enough to make me not quit but challenging enough for a brand new iOS developer to have to spend some time on them to learn.

By Ghenadie B

Jul 31, 2016

Is the most succesful course for iOS User Interface Design, very useful, that may replace ten books and thousands pages to read.

By Holden H C

Jul 30, 2016

great course!

By Huang X

Jun 29, 2016

Good entrance level course for beginner!

By Kyriaki G

May 19, 2016

Gave me a very good perception of the best practises in iOS UI Design

By Helen B

Apr 19, 2016

Practical, fun projects - excellent course for learning iOS development!