Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Korean Politics

Understanding Korean Politics, Yonsei University

4.7
58 ratings
22 reviews

About this Course

This course will select six most outstanding issues in contemporary Korean politics and will engage in an in-depth, interactive inquiry of those issue. They include Korean politics in history, institutional setting of Korean politics, and dynamics of political culture in Korea, profiles of political leadership, myth and reality of the developmental state and the Korean economic miracle, and debates on Korean unification. The course will expose students to contending theories and empirical reality at first hand. After completing this course, learners will be able to 1. Grasp the most salient and timely aspects of Korean politics.. 2. Place South Korean politics in comparative perspectives. 3. Digest a delicate mix of theory and practice regarding Korean politics. 4. Come up with new interpretations of political development in South Korea. 5. Most importantly renew their genuine interests in Korea and Korean politics....
Filter by:

21 Reviews

By Kevin Heraty

Nov 09, 2018

An

By Vanessa Rivera Guevara

Oct 08, 2018

Excellent course! I probably learned must of the things I needed to know about Korean politics, causes, consequences, future scenarios, etc.

By Simon Fan

Aug 12, 2018

Teaching materials are well organized, and Professor is excellent. Yet, postings in the discussion forums are seldom responded to by teaching staff or mentor. There are errors in the subtitles, in particular the Simplified Chinese subtitle which would very likely mislead learners that have to rely on it to get through the course.

By Nicholas A. Sheen

Jul 04, 2018

Very informative course. I liked the professor.

By Jinyong Lee

Mar 08, 2018

In some points, I do not agree with the professor but this course is good to learn Korean modern history thoroughly.

By Joy Smith

Dec 23, 2017

good comprehensive review of the subject. Instructor slightly hard to understand

By Alexandre Bize

Nov 29, 2017

Greatcourse!

By Vicky

Nov 20, 2017

A very interesting course on Korean Politics. Well organized with many videos and nice presentation. The most important points of the professor are written on the background, so note taking and visual absorption are made easier. I would recommend that course! The only difficulty was to always understand the professor. That though has to do with his little accent and I assure you you get used to it fast. The subtitles help but they are not 100% correct.

By Eduard P. Walther

Nov 14, 2017

I loved it, the transcript could use a little correction on some words.

THe9nstructor;what a honor to have him!

By Shunyang Gao

Oct 20, 2017

I really appreciate that I had a chance to take this class and to be taught by a famous South Korean professor, Chung-in Moon. Although Coursera did not provide much course related to international relation and politics, it`s still a honor to join this wonderful class. However, there are some place that Coursera and professor Moon Chung-in can do better.

Firstly, I want more course about "principles" such as introduction of international relation and principle of macroeconomic, which can help students like me to develop a more constantly knowledge.

Secondly, course interaction is so rare that I did not see any of it. The forum of class did not be fully use by our students and it seems like everyone is not interested in communicating with each other which really bother me.

Finally, I know professor Moon Chung-in is really busy since he is a well-known scholar in this field. But I still wonder if there is a chance that students may communicate with professor and exchange ideas about the course and other stuff.

Thank you!