Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Obesity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Obesity by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
188 ratings
53 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Top reviews

AD

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

RR

Aug 15, 2017

this is very good course, helped me think about well being not just health. hope to see more courses from the Mr Menzies. thanks!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 52 Reviews for Understanding Obesity

By DR. M S K

Mar 26, 2019

P.hd level course

By Kate B

Mar 07, 2019

Why wasn't the world's sedentary lifestyle not discussed as a cause of weight gain?

By Mohamed A A H

Feb 28, 2019

Very good course

By mayada m m k e

Feb 19, 2019

Very good

By Hanna W

Feb 17, 2019

Very informative and well organised!

By aula s

Feb 04, 2019

Thank you so much

By Johanna R

Nov 01, 2018

Excellent, easy to follow and interesting course!

By Abigail S S

Oct 15, 2018

Excelente curso

By Farida A

Sep 23, 2018

I loved how they talk about obesity from global view and epidemic, not just as individuals.

By Fumio S

Sep 19, 2018

It was a very interesting lecture.

By Sylvia S

Jul 04, 2018

good information, interesting facts

By Alicia C L

May 17, 2018

I really enjoyed it. This course it was very useful.

I learned how obesity it is more than a healthy problem it is also a economic problem and we need to create new policies and be more aware about this epidemic illness.

It helping me to modify my habits and be more careful with my food choices.

By DALIA M

May 15, 2018

Great new information!!! Thank you very much!

By Siarhei D

May 13, 2018

Very informative and useful for wide audience.

By Sri l B

May 08, 2018

very informative

By Luisa S

May 07, 2018

This course was very helpful for me. I learn a lot and now Im implementing all the things that I learned here.

By Helen B C

May 07, 2018

This course was really interesting, it covered a wide range of topics and supported assertions with evidence. It was quite quick and easy to complete, but I certainly learned new ways to tackle my own unhealthy eating habits. Thank you

By olga t

May 06, 2018

I THINK THE COURSE GIVE ME MORE SKILLS

By Maureen W

May 06, 2018

Excellent. The order of content, the stacking of logic, the professor. Thank you!

By Angie W

May 02, 2018

Interesting and informative.

By Sandy C

May 02, 2018

Excellent! Very interesting!

By Ibrahim M f

Apr 13, 2018

Its was been a great journey in the healthy life style, healthy cooking, learner too much great information in the nutritional value and habit. hop the great for instructor and for universety in feature same topic courses ..

By WOLFF F

Mar 18, 2018

Interesting.

By Afonso J

Jan 10, 2018

Great experience

This was great experience, with thouthful insight’s.

Looking forward for STEP 2 - Episode 2, “UNDERSTANDING OBESITY_Univ Edinburgh”…

By Ahmad A

Jan 06, 2018

thanks for an excellent course