Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
1,503 ratings
373 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 369 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Sama K

Apr 03, 2019

The professor introduces the concepts of user experience in a very structured, practical way that I'm able to immediately apply as I conduct user research in my role as a product manager. The course was quick, and I was able to get through most of the content in less than two days, which was perfect for my purposes.

As a note of caution, the value you get out of this course will be highly dependent on your goal. If you are looking for a quick way to learn fundamentals about user experience, this course is perfect. If you're looking for an in-depth course teach you to be a designer and give you hands-on assignments to practice these concepts, this is not the course for you.

By Scott R

Dec 03, 2018

Excellent course!

By Eleanor L

Dec 06, 2018

Thank you so much~

By Sidra A

Dec 10, 2018

very satisfying experience

By Manorama M

Dec 13, 2018

A very nice program

By Traevon W

Jan 01, 2019

This course is a great introduction into such an exciting field!

By Laura B F

Jan 04, 2019

Excellent overview and simple to complete.

By Leo

Jan 31, 2019

easy entry level about the user experience

By Crista F C

Jan 31, 2019

good & efficient overview

By Nam Y K

Feb 02, 2019

Well summarized and helpful in understanding the core fundamentals of UX design. Definitely on the light side for beginners.

By Lalit K G

Feb 04, 2019

Recommend for all the beginners!

By Shubham S

Nov 20, 2018

This course is very informative !

By Felipe J M Z

Nov 09, 2018

Good and informative about UX and UI

By Vijeth R

Nov 28, 2018

Perfectly crafted for learning. Definitely a must take course for all the new to field UX Enthusiast. Thanks Coursera and Georgia Tech.

By Katlen F

Nov 29, 2018

I started the course without pretension and I was surprised, very good content, and examples provided were great so I could learn some usability techniques.

By Olatubosun A

Nov 14, 2018

The course was effectively delivered.

By 薛志蒋豪

Jan 16, 2019

Let me have a preliminary understanding of user experience and learn some English vocabulary and expressions

By Carolina V

Jan 09, 2019

Really good introductory course to user experience design! I have understood a lot of aspects related to design that will allow me to work better with the design team.

By Veronica P

Jan 25, 2019

Great introductory course. It is taught in a way that is straightforward and easy to understand. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to start their journey on the subject of UX Design.

By Divyanga G

Feb 26, 2019

I am in the creative field, an architect and an urban planner. User interface design did not just help me understand the importance in a computer enhanced user interface but also in developing better solutions in every interface that a user come across. I personally loved this beginner course and the reading materials that was shared through this course. I look forward to learn more in the upcoming advanced sessions. Professor Dr. Rosa I. Arriaga did an excellent job in explaining UX design terms in the most simplest way to understand.

Designing cannot be ignored as a separate field, while it is a part of even the tiniest task we carry out. Every small task involves a user experience to it. Hence, I would definitely recommend this course anyone who has an eye for design.

By Miriam V L

Feb 25, 2019

If you're looking for an introduction, this is it! I supplemented the course by listening to Don Norman's "The design of Everyday Things" and both were wonderful. I plan to take a boot camp in UX this year, and now I feel a bit more prepared for the challenge! Thanks to Coursera-it was easy on my wallet.

By Jay G

Feb 26, 2019

This course was quite informative and amazing to start as introduction for UX Design

By Koh Y J

Feb 27, 2019

Great intro course for anyone who wants a broad overview of what UX is about!

By William C

Feb 28, 2019

This course was exactly as described. It provided a good overview of an approach to User Experience Design and helped to familiarize the student with relevant terminology. The time commitment was minimal (I think the estimates provided are on the high-end for time required), however, there was a lot of information provided for someone new to the area of study. After taking this course, I would an expect an individual would have a good idea as to whether they wished to pursue a more in depth study of the topics presented. Key points were reiterated throughout, the video presentations were well done and the quizzes were just challenging enough to ensure you paid attention.

By Ishaan V

Mar 02, 2019

Gives you a brief of UI/UX