Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Business Strategy

Advanced Business Strategy, University of Virginia

4.7
500 ratings
84 reviews

About this Course

Advance your strategic analysis skills in this follow-up to Foundations of Business Strategy. In this course, you'll learn the tools to analyze strategy across time (competitive dynamics), industries ( corporate strategy), geographies (international strategy), and institutions (non-market strategy). We'll introduce the tools you need to complete a comprehensive evaluation and understand the strategy dynamics of an industry: Competitive Lifecycle, Internationalization and Stakeholder Analyses, and Diversification Matrices. We'll apply these tools in case studies of industry leaders Disney, Orascom Telecom Holding, Sony, and GE Healthcare India....

Top reviews

By AS

Nov 11, 2017

Great Course and excellent insight about strategy approach for any business. Its has really given a full overview about business strategy approach.\n\nThanks for professors to design such module.

By MM

May 26, 2016

Really advanced thinking in strategy, excellent work by Darden Business School. Particular appreciation for Prof. Jared D. Harris and Mike Lenox for their competency in the subject matter.

Filter by:

80 Reviews

By Abhijit Pulekar

Dec 16, 2018

Advanced Business Strategy course was really insightful with lot of real life examples and case studies.

By Brian Lewis

Dec 06, 2018

Professor Lennox and this course is excellent.

By Handoko Sastro Sudono Lie

Nov 24, 2018

A great course! The course teaches many helpful strategy tools and I have gained invaluable insight into the world of business strategy.

By Hannes Klöpper

Nov 22, 2018

The first chapter is very repetitive and the multiple choice questions are also not very smart. The cases are nice though and all in all I feel much better prepared to analyse a company's strategic position after having taking these two courses.

By Eduardo Amorim de Oliveira

Nov 07, 2018

This course is well planned and managed. the instructors and material very well developed.

By Andrew James

Sep 29, 2018

Solid strategy course. I am so glad I took this class.

By gaanji sai krishna

Sep 10, 2018

Very interesting topic and very helpful for me and will be great for others

By Eliana Hernandez

Aug 28, 2018

It´s a challenging and interesting experience.

By IBLE,Phynora Rosena

Aug 19, 2018

Learned a lot that I can actually use at my workplace.

By Lisa Nixdorf

Aug 01, 2018

I liked the course and course content but the concept of peer reviewing and waiting for someone to peer-review your final assignment is really tiring.