Chevron Left
Back to Customer Value in Pricing Strategy

Customer Value in Pricing Strategy, University of Virginia

4.8
110 ratings
16 reviews

About this Course

The traditional approach to pricing based on costs works to pay the bills, but it leaves revenue on the table. You can, in fact, price your products in a way that increases sales--if you know what your customers are willing to pay and can leverage psychology to create better deal and discount plans. In this course, we'll show you how to price a product based on how your customers value it and the psychology behind their purchase decisions. Led by Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, this course provides an in-depth understanding of value-based pricing and how to use it to capture more revenue. By the end of this course, you'll be able to... -- Apply knowledge of customer value to price products -- Leverage core value-based pricing techniques to inform pricing decisions -- Measure customer willingness to pay using models (surveys, conjoint analysis, other data) -- Use knowledge of consumer psychology to set prices beneficial to both consumers and sellers...

Top reviews

By VY

Feb 19, 2018

The instructors use the real world scenarios in the simplest possible way to be understood , and tell you the to the point concepts involved in these business scenarios

By RS

Jun 05, 2017

Wonderful course! If I had some idea how to price regarding economic concepts - then this course gives me completely new very practical methodologies!

Filter by:

15 Reviews

By Mike Y Wang

Dec 04, 2018

I really enjoyed this course as the professor made it a blast to take, and I especially liked the video intro and debrief for the final peer assignment. I've not yet taken a course where the real-life result of the case study presented to students was revealed. The BCG section met my high expectations. I look forward to taking the next course in this specialization!

By Soren Aarlit Gade

Mar 24, 2018

Excellent course. Well delivered with a touch of humor.

By Vivek Yadav

Feb 19, 2018

The instructors use the real world scenarios in the simplest possible way to be understood , and tell you the to the point concepts involved in these business scenarios

By Hassan Abbas

Feb 09, 2018

Great way to learn conjoint and marketing research fundamentals

By Erick Domingues

Feb 05, 2018

I found very upsetting that all of the peer reviewed asigments that i rated (5) were for the Trail Blazer case as i was expecting to see at least 1 work of someone that picket the Mutual Fund case so i could compare it to the work that i have done.

It would have been better if it was given us the choice to pick what to correct instead of giving us 3 random works.

By Ronaldo Batalha Silva

Jan 15, 2018

Very rich content on consumer behavior and present powerfull tools to measure WTP

By Ismail Adewale Salami

Jan 03, 2018

Fantastic experience and learning points!

By Matt Shumway

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent course. All the instructors did a great job.

By Amitesh Kumar

Nov 10, 2017

Great course, bringing willingness to pay with human psychology and perspective. Ron and team does great job of delivering complex conjoint analysis in simple to understand terms. The case study at the end of the course is great way to summarize the learning of the course.

By Vikash Punglia

Aug 27, 2017

Just superb. One of the best MOOCs ever.