Chevron Left
Back to New Models of Business in Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for New Models of Business in Society by University of Virginia

4.6
565 ratings
152 reviews

About the Course

In this course we will be discussing the emergence of a new story about business. This new story locates business within a societal framework. Almost every business creates or destroys value for customers, suppliers, employees, communities and society, in addition to shareholders and other financiers. A number of new models of business can be built on this idea such as corporate responsibility, philanthropy, shared value and sustainability. Profits and stakeholder value go together, and this course explains how. The final session explores the idea of how to become a stakeholder entrepreneur and create a business that makes money and makes the world a better place....

Top reviews

CS

Nov 13, 2015

One of the most intriguing and thought-provoking courses I have ever done. I'm really pleased of finding and doing this course. It responds to my desire of doing good to society through business.

JO

Dec 28, 2017

We had always wanted to kick start something here in Nigeria but needed a core training on what to do and how to go about it. I am excited because the course stated core practical examples .

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 151 Reviews for New Models of Business in Society

By Juan M R

Apr 16, 2019

Such a good course to make a better world.

By Ana M V G

Mar 25, 2019

El curso brinda un panorama general sobre las tipologías de nuevos negocios, complementado con entrevistas a los actores involucrados en esta nueva narrativa empresarial que ayudan a comprender el cambio de paradigma de la generación de valor para los acciones a la generación de valor para los stakeholders.

By Samuel D

Sep 27, 2018

Great course. I really liked it.

By Teodoro R W A

Jul 01, 2018

Excelente curso.

By Roberto G C

Jun 08, 2018

Great training, with a complete new perspective for me. Thank you!

Time to do it real in our professional and personal lives!

By Ajay K Y

May 01, 2018

The content was decent and interviews were a great motivation. Some more lectures with more interviews from the sustainable business leaders would be a great addition to the course.

By Pedro S

Apr 26, 2018

Excellent course!!

By Nicole N

Feb 20, 2018

Really great impressive course with excellent information and with a really good speaker, Prof. Ed Freeman. I enjoyed it totally

By MARCIO A B

Feb 01, 2018

Aprendizados para a vida.

By Filippo M

Jan 07, 2018

Interesting Class, well taught with lot of examples in real life and useful discussions in the forum. Builds the idea of a change in business and gives new perspectives.

By Joseph O

Dec 28, 2017

We had always wanted to kick start something here in Nigeria but needed a core training on what to do and how to go about it. I am excited because the course stated core practical examples .

By Ulisses A J

Dec 10, 2017

Muito bom, abre uma nova perspectiva sobre a filantropia e as ações sócios ambientais nos negócios, e como unir as pontas lucro + benefícios para a sociedade.

By Srilakshmi N

Nov 22, 2017

This course wonderfully takes one through the concepts of businesses from the perspective of making social impact while making profits

By Walter C

Nov 12, 2017

MUITO BOM

By Leonardo

Oct 29, 2017

Excellent Dr. Freeman. The best business approach for the 21st century challenges.

By Gustavo C G

Oct 27, 2017

Very interesting course. Was easy to understand the teachers speech.

By Matthew B

Oct 25, 2017

A must for anyone looking at starting or working in business. Thanks!

By sophia s

Oct 23, 2017

This course had a very clear and concise structure that allowed the student the opportunity to get an over view of new models of business, corporate philanthropy, social responsibility, and what needs to be done at the individual level. The course was further enhanced by the discussions from leaders in the business community making an impact in a variety of ways.

By Paul A L

Oct 13, 2017

Great professor and truly exciting learning environment. Ed made learning this subject fun and I was fully engaged from the start.

By Eleni S

Oct 07, 2017

Excellent course, really mind altering experience.

By Raphael D L

Oct 06, 2017

excelente!!!!

By AM

Sep 20, 2017

Are you for serious! You must be very smart to have built a career around such lame research. It seems surprising that you are teaching this to Darden MBA students. The course is more for high school students who may clap each time you ask them to 'do good and amazing things' in life, and that too every 10 minutes. The entire stakeholder theory can be covered in one 10-minute lecture - and this theory doesn't come across as insightful research anyway. No need for a 4-week course on pep talk on doing good things in life. And I think you know it too - that there is little content in these lectures!

By Gregorio A A P

Sep 11, 2017

Excellent course of very good quality, only that the Spanish speaking people, Latin Americans and South Americans would appreciate if they were so gentle to translate your prestigious courses into the English language

By Vasileios K

Sep 10, 2017

Great Course!

By Goddete C

Sep 09, 2017

Ótimo curso, não me arrependo de nenhum curso que fiz no Coursera, foram bons investimentos!