Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Business Strategy

Foundations of Business Strategy, University of Virginia

4.8
1,058 ratings
221 reviews

About this Course

Develop your ability to think strategically, analyze the competitive environment, and recommend firm positioning and value creation. In this course, we will explore the underlying theory and frameworks that provide the foundations of a successful business strategy and provide the tools you need to understand that strategy: SWOT, Competitor, Environmental, Five Forces, and Capabilities Analyses, as well as Strategy Maps. We'll apply these tools in case studies of industry leaders Google, Redhook, Piaggio and Apple....

Top reviews

By TM

May 02, 2018

This course is very helpful. It emanates from the strategist' mind. The way this course empowers a person is phenomenal. I personally learnt a lot with this course and hope to learn further as well.

By SA

Oct 16, 2017

Great course, perfect mix of theory and real life cases. Both the tutors are extremely effective in putting across their point. Very good course to learn the basics of Business straetgy.

Filter by:

213 Reviews

By Luciano Radicce

Dec 05, 2018

Awesome !

By Mostafa Abdelazeem Metwally Elhabiby

Dec 02, 2018

this help me so much that the language was perfect, teachers were great , materials and cases were so helpful to me , and quiz was the best part of theme all that help me to focus more and focus again to get the best and the most correct choice ...thank you coursera for this great course

By KULADEEP TUMMALA

Nov 28, 2018

This is a great course overall! I can't wait to take up the other courses in this specialisation.

By FARHAN NASEER

Nov 23, 2018

BEST HELPING MATERIAL FOR TRAINING AND UNDERSTANDABLE LECTURES

By Hannes Klöpper

Nov 22, 2018

The course covers some ground and introduces the learner to a very structured, analytic way of thinking about a firm's competitive positioning. A point of critique would be that it is a bit superficial and repetitive at times. Many of the multiple choice questions require common sense rather than a deep understanding of the course concepts. This could easily be improved and would make the course a lot better!

By Sivasubramanian Thiagarajan

Nov 22, 2018

Good for the learning the Basics

By Jesús Cárdenes

Nov 21, 2018

Very good methodology, teachers and content I recommend it.

By Swapnil Desai

Nov 11, 2018

Excellent Course material. Great Professors.

By Eliran Ifrach

Nov 07, 2018

Great content, very informative, well-made and professional. Thanks!

By sohrab ali

Nov 07, 2018

good course

find alot knowledge in easy way