Chevron Left
Back to UX Design Fundamentals

UX Design Fundamentals, California Institute of the Arts

4.8
161 ratings
23 reviews

About this Course

This hands-on course examines how content is organized and structured to create an experience for a user, and what role the designer plays in creating and shaping user experience. You will be led through a condensed process that acts as a roadmap for developing robust UI/UX design: from ideation and sitemapping, to the creation of paper and digital prototypes. Building on the design skills learned in Visual Elements of User Interface Design, you will apply this methodology to produce a digital prototype for a multi-screen app of your own invention. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe and apply current best practices and conventions in UX design, and employ the fundamental principles of how UX design functions to shape an audience's experience of a given body of content. This is the second course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

By MG

Jan 04, 2019

Excellent course. A lot of very valuable work is done in this and it's great the execution can be as detailed as you want it to be. Highly recommended.

By NS

Jan 25, 2019

Very interesting course, I learned a lot from it. I would love some feedback from a professor at least in the last assignment.

Filter by:

24 Reviews

By Ben Silverstein

Apr 21, 2019

Great course although had a hard time with getting reviews for my assignments and productive/constructive comments.

By Rusamijan Permison

Apr 15, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. I like all the assignments.

By Oscar Quiroz Pérez

Mar 27, 2019

Great course! Very practical, fun and useful assigments!

By Cate Shaner

Mar 22, 2019

Totally the course to take if you're getting into UX Design. Highly recommend this!

By Elena Novacovschi

Mar 17, 2019

Good course, it gives basic knowledge of UX process, it was my first time when I made content maps and site maps, and it was really helpful in developing my app

By Jessica Kress

Mar 16, 2019

I find the video content and lectures to be excellent and incredibly instructive. I was very frustrated by the peer review system, however. People gave very confusing feedback that sometimes was blatantly untrue. Also, the majority of the grades are done by "fair," "good," and "excellent." If you give someone "good" marks across the board they receive a 75% which is barely passing.

By Olumide Sowunmi

Mar 01, 2019

Great course content, very helpful weekly assignments

By Facundo Franza

Feb 21, 2019

Very useful to understand how to build sitemaps and wireframes. Good assignments, I learned how to use Adobe XD to finish the course. Also, I have combined the previous knowledge acquired in the UI course.

By Ritesh Kapoor

Feb 12, 2019

Nice One.. this made me competent enough to build the UX on my own..!!

thanks..!

By Colleen Brand

Feb 05, 2019

I really enjoyed the class and learned a lot. It was broken down into nice sections. The last week took me the longest to complete as there was a lot of work that went into this assignment. I think that the hour estimates for each week of the course is based on doing the bare minimum. I spent longer each week. I didn't realize at first that there isn't much interaction with the teacher unless I would post a question in the discussion area. The homework is only reviewed by peers. It is helpful sometimes, but it would have been nice to get feedback from the teacher at some point, too. Overall, a great class. Thank you! Colleen